We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“APPALLING experience would not recommend”

Mantra Progressive Indian
Reserve a table
2
Tue, 03/08
20:00
Ranked #76 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 49
Description: Welcome to Mantra an Indian Restaurant in the heart of Bath, that specialises in serving progressive Indian food. Our dishes are healthily packed with flavour, crunch, punch and zing offering plenty of choice to vegetarians and vegans. Inspired by seasonal ingredients, our food contains only the freshest produce prepared in a way that captures the amazing diversity of India’s regional cuisines and childhood street food memories.
Restaurant details
Description: Welcome to Mantra an Indian Restaurant in the heart of Bath, that specialises in serving progressive Indian food. Our dishes are healthily packed with flavour, crunch, punch and zing offering plenty of choice to vegetarians and vegans. Inspired by seasonal ingredients, our food contains only the freshest produce prepared in a way that captures the amazing diversity of India’s regional cuisines and childhood street food memories.
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Poor customer service, even poorer communication and rude staff. We ordered via Deliveroo at 8.30pm with an estimated arrival time of 20 minutes. We allowed around 45 minutes to pass before calling the restaurant for an update on the order’s whereabouts, to be told that it was 5 minutes away. After a further 20 minutes, the order still had not arrived and so we called again, to be told again that the order was 5 minutes away. After 5 more minutes and still no food, we decided to call Deliveroo who advised us that the restaurant uses private drivers and so they were unable to refund us. Deliveroo kindly contacted the restaurant for us who informed us for a third time that the order was 5 minutes away. After a total wait time of 1 HOUR AND 50 MINUTES, we decided enough was enough and called the restaurant to ask for a refund. The lady who answered the phone was rude and obnoxious and told us that it was not her responsibility to issue a refund, making no effort whatsoever to help us. I asked to speak with someone who did have this responsibility and finally, around 2 hours after we ordered, we were told we could be refunded.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank chloewhitehouse1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Progressive Indian, Owner at Mantra Progressive Indian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

We are extremely sorry Chloe you did not have good experience at Mantra.

We all at Mantra are working hard for our valuable customers like you.

We hope to serve you again and we will make sure you will not be disappointed.

Kind Regards,
Mantra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 654 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2021

Visited this amazing restaurant on a Saturday, because of the recent easing of restrictions there was a pretty decent crowd, but the staff made sure that my food was on time (as a south Indian can also vouch for the authenticity of the masala dosa). Also special mention to the seating area overlooking a beautiful view of bath!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank vishvaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Progressive Indian, Owner at Mantra Progressive Indian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Thank you very much Vishvak for your feedback and thanks for your support at this time.

Thanks for giving us 5 stars.

I am glad you liked our food, service and the view from the outdoor open terrace.

We look forward to serving you soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

Great food, superb cocktails and amazing view...
Really appreciate the staff they were really warm and welcoming.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank 376ankitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Progressive Indian, Owner at Mantra Progressive Indian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Thank you very much Ankita for your feedback and thanks for your support at this time.

Thanks for giving us 5 stars.

I am glad you liked our food and service.

We look forward to serving you soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

Fairly central location, well received by staff, tables inside and out, overlooking the valley at the back.
Service was good and food delivered in a timely manner.
Menu a little limited in choice (maybe pandemic related), food was very good/quality, some interesting dishes I've not seen before. Drinks a little pricey.
Recommended.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank markpY3706CE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Progressive Indian, Owner at Mantra Progressive Indian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

Thank you very much Mark for your feedback and thanks for your support at this time.

Thanks for giving us 4 stars.

I am glad you liked our food and service.

We look forward to serving you soon.

Kind Regards,
Mantra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

A lovely welcome even though we were 20 minutes early. We were sat near an open air area which was very cold and unexpected. The service was good, the food was below average (we are from Bradford and used to exceptional curry) and the prices were astronomical - around £4 for a small portion of poppodoms and pickle tray. Our bill was £99 for 4 people, no starters, no puddings and 2 alcoholic drinks. Felt very cheated.

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank matherska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mantra Progressive Indian, Owner at Mantra Progressive Indian, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2021

We are extremely sorry you did not have good experience at Mantra.

Sorry, we could not live upto your expectations with respect to the food served. Please treat this as a one off.

We all at Mantra are working hard for our valuable customers like you.

We hope to serve you again and we will make sure you will not be disappointed.

Kind Regards,
Mantra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mantra Progressive Indian also viewed

 

Been to Mantra Progressive Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.