We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub but your forgotten if your upstairs”
Review of The Packhorse

The Packhorse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Packhorse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #140 of 643 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Packhorse is owned by the community - following an incredible "buy back" campaign. The Packhorse reopened its C17th doors in March 2018.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

We stopped for lunch here to try the new Packhorse and we were not disappointed with the decor or the refurbishment, it really is beautiful. Sadly we were sat in the green room upstairs alongside another table of three and we were all forgotten. No one checked our food was okay, we had to ask for things that had been forgotten and the table across from us sat with their empty plates until they actually left the pub, with no offer of desert or further drinks. It seems if your a known local or you have managed to sit downstairs, the service might have been better. Also note that the chips are cooked in duck fat if you are a vegetarian ( this is not mentioned on the menu we were given) and that gluten free puddings are not made known on the menu. The quality of the food is fantastic but for the money you pay, the service really needs to improve in the upstairs area of the packhorse and staff should be able to answer simple menu questions without numerous trips to the kitchen to check.

1  Thank anita h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at The Packhorse, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello anita h,

Thank-you for taking the time to write this, delighted to hear that you are impressed with the refurbishment,

I can only apologise for service being a little slow on your visit, this was our busiest week day lunch by far as you can testify from your visit due to where we had to seat you. We didn't forget you intentionally, nor do we treat anyone differently, the one thing we are working on is 'inclusivity' ,we want this to be a pub for everyone.

As discussed earlier I'm a little concerned by the duck fat comment, as we use vegetable oil, completely veggie friendly..

All in all though thank-you for the comments, we are only 2 weeks old and so we are learning and at a fast pace too, shall look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (85)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We visited the Packhorse yesterday evening to celebrate my birthday. There was 8 of us and we sat upstairs in a gorgeous room with stunning fireplace. The food was lovely and the triple cooked chips were the best ive ever had. The waitress was attentive and did her upmost to provide an excellent service. She couldn't do enough to help us.We took our own birthday cake and ordered several bowls of ice cream . The choice of ice cream was awesome. the passionfruit sorbet was simply delightful. So much nicer than just vanilla or strawberry. It was a fantastic evening and cant wait for the better weather so we can sit outside in the gorgeous gardens. Beautiful pub, beautiful surroundings ...... well done everyone.... we will be back very soon......

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alicia319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at The Packhorse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Alicia319,

Thank-you very much for the kind words.

I shall pass this on to the team, I know they'll be delighted

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Just had lunch at the Packhorse via a friend's recommendation: a really nice venue. The pub has just been totally refurbished in a fFarrell and Ball/shabby chic style, and it really works. The staff are ultra friendly, the menu extensive and diverse: proper pub food or the choice of beautifully presented high quality fine food. What a find, we will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank chirojones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at The Packhorse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Hello chirojones,

Amazing words, thank you so much for taking the time to post.

Shall look forward to seeing you again soon

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The best fish and chips we've ever had, in a cozy&relaxed atmosphere. I loved the local feeling and the story behind this little old pub.

Thank Anastasia N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at The Packhorse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Many Thanks Anastasia, hopefully see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

The Community have done a super job in restoring this pub. Sympathetic to its history, it made for a relaxing lunch sat by the fire. The beer on tap was a local micro brewery, which I enjoyed a dark and light offering. The menu looked good albeit I had just a sandwich but it was nonetheless enjoyable.
We have lost too many of these old pubs great to see one rescued and thriving. Within thirty mins of the picture the place was rammed!

Thank Gamiey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James D, General Manager at The Packhorse, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Many Thanks Gamiey,

We are all truly blessed to have this wonderful pub back in Bath, so much history and so many stories..

Hopefully we shall see you again soon

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Packhorse also viewed

 

Been to The Packhorse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing