We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful food and great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Panahar

Panahar
Ranked #135 of 542 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Food was great and staff very helpful and attentive.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    38
    9
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Simply the best ......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

Panahar is a little bit of the beaten tourist track but has to be worth a visit. Prices are probably a third less than what you pay in the City Centre but the fod is absolutely exquisite and the friendly welcome is delightful. Panahar has the added bonus of being able to take your own drinks so that keeps the cost down even more. Be it a sit-in or a take-away Panahar takes some beating and it takes a lot to drag us to an alternative Indian Restaurant.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
207 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“My favourite Indian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

I've been going quite regularly to this restaurant, since moving into this area. In my opinion, it's the best Indian restaurant in Bath.

The staff are wonderful - by far the friendliest I've come across. The menu is quite varied, and the food consistently fresh. And the prices are very fair.

Well done to all at Panahar!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank philipoconnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England
Level Contributor
208 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Quality always guaranteed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

My third visit to this simple high street Indian Restaurant which is located at Moorland Road, a secondary shopping street on the southern outskirts of the city. The restaurant is consistently busy, a sure sign of quality, and booking a table, particularly on Fridays or Saturdays, is probably essential.

There is always a very friendly welcome, with shaking of hands, very efficient service, and similarly a friendly goodbye and thank you.

Bring your own drink ( no corkage charge ) and enjoy the comfortable and unpretentious atmosphere.

You'll find a varied mix of people use the restaurant but on our last visit it was noticeable that the clientele were all 30 plus with younger people and students perhaps absent due to the current economic climate.

There is a very good menu, available on their website, and if you're unsure about Indian dishes , as I was, the waiting staff will assist you in your choice and will even suggest how to make even the standard Indian selections much tastier.

Desserts are standard issue ice creams etc, chosen from a photo menu, and are enjoyable enough to finish of what is usually a very substantial meal.

Choose carefully and limit your selection as you will soon find out that the quantity of food is much greater than expected.

This very pleasant restaurant is set to be a regular choice for the future when eating in the Bath area.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Papabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Student type Indian with no class!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

After all the review I went with for of my friends and what a disappointment. It's not a restaurant,it's a Bhalti house!! Was abit embarrassing as I took guests with me.waiters where nice as they had a smile as they served us. We had to go back out to buy drinks as they had no bar.i left my friends and ran across the road for drinks.irritating! Starters where standard but main food waz all red with no taste. Whould Neva go back again!!!

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Joaaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panahar also viewed

 
Bath, Somerset
 

Been to Panahar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing