We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely apartment within the heart of Bath”
other travellers have booked this property
The large super king size bed in the master bedroom offers the perfect night's sleep.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The large super king size bed in the master bedroom offers the perfect night's sleep.
The second bedroom is also super-king size. Both bedrooms can be made up as twins on request. You're guaranteed a great night's sleep at The Old Smithy Loft, our central Bath apartment.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
The large super king size bed in the master bedroom offers the perfect night's sleep.
The second bedroom is also super-king size. Both bedrooms can be made up as twins on request.
You're guaranteed a great night's sleep at The Old Smithy Loft, our central Bath apartment.
There are luxury finishes throughout The Old Smithy Loft and exceptional attention to detail.
The open plan living area is spacious with a warming electric stove for cosy nights in.
The new sofas and armchairs are so comfy, you might get lost in them!
The living area set up is completed with a flat screen television, iPod dock and DVD player.
The fine touch decor throughout lets you enjoy the little things.
The kitchen is modern, newly renovated and with all the mod-cons you need for a self-catering stay.
The dining area in the open plan living space is spacious for four guests.
The Old Smithy Loft apartment is ideal for holidaymakers and business travellers alike.
There is a spacious modern bathroom with shower and bath tub.
Make a visit to Great Pulteney Street, walk over the Pulteney Bridge and enjoy the view of the Weir.
The Bath Abbey is only a couple of minutes' walk and has regular tours and services.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bath, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Paul25511...
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely apartment within the heart of Bath”
Reviewed 22 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a lovely first floor apartment within 10 minutes walking distance to Bath city centre. When I arrived it was already very cosy. It is clean and fresh with all of the facilities you could want. The kitchen has loads of appliances, the bedrooms are warm and there was plenty of hot water. It is very modern and furnished to a high quality.

I easily recommend this as a place to stay. I was there for 5 nights and I did not want to leave at the end of the stay. One bonus is the car parking space so there is no trouble with parking wardens, although you don't really need a car if you come in by train, the walk into the centre is very pleasant.

You are also within 10 minutes of Bath Rugby.

One point, the front door opens on to a 15 tread staircase so I would say that this was not a place for someone who cannot deal with climbing stairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, cosy atmosphere
Liked least: No movie streaming before midnight - would be limiting for a teenager!
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eric N
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Luxury at a reasonable cost. Amazing!”
Reviewed 28 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Situated just 5 minute walk from Bath city centre this loft is an ideal place to stay. It's so spacious and comfy. I was over in Bath for a wedding. Most of the wedding party stayed in the Abbey hotel. It's nice and all, but it's a dingy little dive compared to the Old Smithy Loft.
I'm not a real people person, and I don't particularly like to deal with them for keys and all that jazz. In the Old Smithy, you are left completely on your own(best part about our stay other than the amazing beds).

There's a guestbook which is fun to read, and also a folder with lots of maps and guides and some tips.

The only one I can give that wasn't mentioned, is get yourself to Mission Burrito for a Burrito, they are amazing.

Have a great stay :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beds. The beds, they are the most comfortable thing I've ever slept in.
Liked least: The internet was slow all of the time, even during non peak hours.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CandJMelb...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Excellent choice of accommodation in Bath”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A few minutes walk from the centre of town, private car park, quiet at night. Beds were really comfortable (one king size or twin singles, the other queen size). Bathroom had good shower over the bath, opening window, fluffy big white towels, toiletries were provided. Kitchen had everything you would need crockery and cutlery wise, and had a few basics such as salt and pepper, granola, cornflakes, tea, coffee. "Log" fire in lounge with comfortable couch would have been lovely to snuggle up in front of in winter. Key code meant no hassles in collecting a key, worrying about losing it etc. I liked that there were a couple of emergency numbers left in the apartment so you knew who to call - not that there was any need, but it was nice to know! It was all really clean, we loved it and would definitely chose to stay here again when we're in Bath.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: cleanliness
Liked least: steps up to the apartment
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2014
HI there...very good indeed of you to take the time to write. I am delighted you enjoyed your time at The Old Smithy and in Bath. Do come again..I find often that guests do not realise just how much there is to do in Bath and only stay a couple of days. It is really an excellent centre with many festivals..September is Jane Austen, The Great Bath Feast starts in October, followed by the Morzartfest...and then the Christmas market.
Thank you so much for writing...have fun Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlanmanVa...
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Peaceful Apartment in Busy Bath”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at Old Smithy Loft on a short visit to Bath. We were very pleased with the quality of the accommodations, as well as the location. Being close to the canal was lovely, and only a 10 minute walk over the bridge was the heart of Bath. The apartment was very well equipped and attention to detail was evident. Beds were very comfortable and linens of high quality. The apartment was spotlessly clean. Communications with the owner were quick and positive. On-site dedicated parking was a bonus and much appreciated. We look forward to a return visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Strummerb...
Camberley, Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent self catering apartment. Convenient for Bath.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed for 3 nights. We were looking for somewhere convenient for Bath City; preferably self catering, with parking and this fitted the bill. The apartment is very well equipped, clean and confortable, with some really nice touches. Very convenient with just a short and pleasant walk to the Bath attractions. I'd highly recommend the Old Smithy Loft and would stay again next time we visit. Wifi is very slow, but at least it has Wifi. Good value!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High quality of apartment
Liked least: Slow WiFi
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing