We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bath at Beckford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beckford House

Beckford House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Beckford House
Ranked #80 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
2 reviews
“Bath at Beckford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2011

Wonderful host lovely b&b. Room was beautifully decorated and great breakfast

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosetinted82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    7
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2011

Me and my girlfriend had a lovely stay in this beautiful property. We were made to feel very welcome from start to finish, from the very helpful and friendly host, Anthony, who's extensive knowledge of local pubs and bars went down a treat! His breakfasts get the thumbs up too!
Rooms are a good size and very clean, so would def recommend to others!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank don_ants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2010

We were looking to stay somewhere in Bath for the Christmas Market and would normally have chosen a larger hotel but many were booked up far in advance. We decided to take a chance with Beckford House. Our enquiry re room availability was responded to quickly by Anthony O’Flaherty the proprietor. We duly booked two double rooms and sent off our deposit.
Our trip to Bath was set against a backdrop of snow and ice but we duly arrived on time. Anthony asked that we advise him of our approx arrival time in order that he could meet us upon we arrived at Beckford House.
Our earlier fears of a B&B were quickly dispelled. Beckford’s is more than a B&B. It is a friendly “home from home” where we made to feel immediately welcome. Our rooms on the first floor overlooked the city of Bath that is approximately 20 minutes (easy downhill) walk away.
The rooms were comfortable and clean with central heating, essential for the cold weather we had been experiencing. We slept well as Beckford House is located on a quiet residential road.
Breakfast was freshly cooked to order by Anthony and there was also a good selection of cereals, fruits & yoghurt. There are just too many jams, honeys and preserves available to name here.
Overall our 2 night stay was a pleasure and we would recommend Beckford House for anyone wishing to visit Bath. As mentioned by other reviewers there is a bus close-by although we chose to walk downhill into the city and use a taxi for the journey home (approx £6) as this was cost effective for 4 people.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevan-Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2010

what alovely b&b very clean. we got more than we expected for a b&b, anthony carried our bag to our room, we had a jug of drinking water with glasse and 2 wine glasses and a corkscrew which came in very handy and the breakfast was very good. a good selection of cereals and fruit. fresh orange juice. a lovley cup of tea and a cooked breakfast with a choice of ways to have eggs cooked, not at all greasy a lovely well kept house and friendly people will definately use this place again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janeyb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2010

Anthony welcomed us like old friends. Our room was lovely - we stayed in the front room with the lovely triple window and the four poster bed. Spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. Our breakfasts were delicious and I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KOB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 km away
Glenade
Glenade
#53 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.3 km away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#9 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
1.3 km away
No photo provided
Walton Villa Bath
#95 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
1.4 km away
Ashley Villa Guest House
0.4 km away
Oldfields House
Oldfields House
#22 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beckford House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beckford House

Property: Beckford House
Address: 59 Upper Oldfield Park, Bath BA2 3LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Hotel Class:4 star — Beckford House 4*
Number of rooms: 29

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing