We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel that loves dogs !!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overton Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Overton Grange Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A hotel that loves dogs !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

What a fantastic hotel, service excellent.

We were greeted by a superb young man who made us feel very welcome.

The room was spotless, nothing was too much trouble. My compliments to the chef, the french cuisine is second to none.

As for the dogs, they were loved form the minute we walked through the door. we will be back, thankyou Overton Grange.

Room Tip: If you are not happy the will try and accomadate your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank natalieharding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    75
    46
    23
    21
See reviews for
20
177
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

two older ladies made a booking with this hotel through booking.com, because the information given on the hotel web site, stated it was " a short level walk from the hotel into Ludlow. We checked this information on Google and found it is actually 2.2.miles away. We immediately rang to cancel the booking to find the answerphone didn't accept messages. Therefore, we rang early the next morning less than twelve hours after making the booking, to cancel the reservation as it was too far for us to walk into the town. We spoke to the owner who was extremely unpleasant, and in formed us in no uncertain manner we would not be allowed to cancel without incurring a £50.00 cancellation fee, even though this was two months prior to our booking, date, and despite the web site stating that if the room could be re--let there would be no charge. I was informed that the £50.00 was an administration fee, charged by Booking .com. When we contacted ,Booking. com they informed us they were willing to waive the charge, but the hotel refused. HAVE CANCELLED ,WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE

Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank patti s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

Despite the extremely hard working and pleasant girls, there is a certain lack of attention to detail here. The room was small, likewise the bathroom, and the the toiletries,while of a very good quality, were not renewed after the first day.
However, on the plus side, the breakfast was very good and though we did not sample the evening menu ourselves, the food got excellent revues in the visitors book.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowdrop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Comfortable stay spoiled by service charge policy. 10% service for dinner (on fixed charge break! Wording of conformation suggest serive included) and bar bill (not informed when ordering) leaves a sense of sharp practice. Room pleasant, but shower difficult to use. Dinner satisfactory but without a wow factor; wine choice for less expensive wines limited. Breakfast good. Lounge fire if lit (although made up) would have been an added pleaure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philipjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Had a lovely relaxing break, in this quaint hotel. I wasnt sure what to expect as we normally stay 5 star, but this was excellent, and I am surprised it is only rated 3 star.

Fantastic service, the food was exemplary and the hotel cosy and presented well.

We had the degustation menu which was top notch, definitely Michelin standard. We had the four poster room and i loved the little touches, like a cafetiere for coffee and the stereo.

We sat by the log fire after dinner in the cosy bar and chatted to other guests, which was a lovely way to finish off the evening

We will definitely return

Room Tip: The four poster room overlooking the front grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally_l911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
2.5 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
0.9 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
0.6 km away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#4 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
24.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
2.3 km away
Elm Lodge
Elm Lodge
#3 of 48 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Hotel

Property: Overton Grange Hotel
Address: Overton Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,937 - ₹ 11,338
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange
Overton Grange Hotel Ludlow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing