We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Overprice when service charge added” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Overton Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Overton Grange Hotel
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Overprice when service charge added”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Comfortable stay spoiled by service charge policy. 10% service for dinner (on fixed charge break! Wording of conformation suggest serive included) and bar bill (not informed when ordering) leaves a sense of sharp practice. Room pleasant, but shower difficult to use. Dinner satisfactory but without a wow factor; wine choice for less expensive wines limited. Breakfast good. Lounge fire if lit (although made up) would have been an added pleaure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank philipjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    74
    45
    23
    22
See reviews for
21
175
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Had a lovely relaxing break, in this quaint hotel. I wasnt sure what to expect as we normally stay 5 star, but this was excellent, and I am surprised it is only rated 3 star.

Fantastic service, the food was exemplary and the hotel cosy and presented well.

We had the degustation menu which was top notch, definitely Michelin standard. We had the four poster room and i loved the little touches, like a cafetiere for coffee and the stereo.

We sat by the log fire after dinner in the cosy bar and chatted to other guests, which was a lovely way to finish off the evening

We will definitely return

Room Tip: The four poster room overlooking the front grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally_l911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

The room was clean, bathroom was immaculate. Thoughtful heater (fan) and throws in the wardrobe. The swimming pool is clean, inviting and offers a great environment for relaxation. The lounge and restaurant areas are also very welcoming.
The dinner is just simply excellent. Great arrangements in the restaurant, apropriate table setting, excellent smiling service and suprisingly diverse quality wine list (French mainly).

Would return and recomment it to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clytemnestra8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2011

We were visiting Ludlow for the Christmas market and chose the Overton Grange simply because everything else was fully booked. The price for the room was £240 bed & breakfast for a couple. This isn't the sort of price we would normally pay for an hotel, but we thought what the hell, it must be good for that price.

The hotel is nice, but the room we were offered actually left us both speechless. It was newly decorated, spotlessly clean and had a four poster bed. But £240 a night? Not a chance. We complained and were offered the honeymoon suite. This was a larger room but by no definition that I am aware of was it a suite. The addition of two small armchairs and an occasional table does not turn a room into a suite and command an extra £50 per night.

I would debate their definition of luxurious, contemporary accomodation. I would suggest comfortable, clean and chintzy. But then it's all subjective. Although a bog standard bath with an overhead shower and one of those hinged glass screens is OK but hardly the height of luxury. I think that's objective.

However, on the plus side the staff were exceptional and the food was excellent. We had the degustation menu along with 6 of our friends, 2 who were also staying at the Overton Grange and the other 4 in the centre of Ludlow. We all agreed that the food was fantastic. We were all made to feel very welcome and comfortable.

Breakfast was also very good and the service continued to be very professional and friendly, although I do wonder when those hard working girls and boys get to sleep !!

The service charge is always an issue for me. We paid it but I would much rather decide for myself at the end of an hotel stay. I would certainly have left a substantial tip for the service we received.

And the hotel is actually 2.2 miles from Ludlow town centre. It's not rocket science working that out rather than describing it as a short level walk.

I guess the question is would we stay there again? And the answer is yes as there was nothing to complain about. But we would only stay when we had exhausted all other possibilities, because we really did think it is over priced for what it is. I'm guessing I would have been very comfortable with £160-£180 based on other hotels that we have stayed in, and that's generous.

Room Tip: Try other hotels in and around Ludlow first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BTVAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The lady working on reception, behind the bar and serving breakfast was very efficient, smiley and extremely helpful. The hotel is in a lovely part of the world, and is clean and comfortable. The room was a little cold when we arrived, but there was an electric heater in the waredrobe which soon warmed it up. There were also a few cobwebs dangling down from the ceiling, but the room and bathroom were clean and well decorated. We enjoyed using the pool, which is beautiful ,and were the only people in there, though it was freezing, but after quite a few lenghts we warmed up! All in all, we had a lovely stay, thank you.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shropshirestalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ludlow
0.6 km away
Dinham Hall Hotel
Dinham Hall Hotel
#6 of 8 in Ludlow
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
2.5 km away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
0.7 km away
The Cliffe at Dinham
The Cliffe at Dinham
#4 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Feathers at Ludlow
24.1 km away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bishops Castle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
1.7 km away
Travelodge Ludlow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Overton Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overton Grange Hotel

Property: Overton Grange Hotel
Address: Overton Road, Ludlow SY8 4AD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ludlow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Ludlow
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,352 - ₹ 11,797
Hotel Class:3 star — Overton Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overton Grange is a privately owned Country House Hotel located in Ludlow, Shropshire. Built in 1905, this beautiful wood-panelled Edwardian house is situated in a truly idyllic setting and provides the ideal place to escape the everyday. Settle in the Library, or Lounge, perhaps by the log fire, (wifi available in the lounge) looking out over stunning Shropshire countryside and gardens. Take the opportunity to enjoy our beautiful new Indoor Pool, Sauna and Health and Beauty facilities - treat yourself to a massage or treatments. Ideally located, we are a level walk from the market town of Ludlow famous for its Gastronomy, Shakespearean plays, bi-annual Food Festivals, Medieval Xmas Fayre, Arts and Antiques Fairs and fresh local produce market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Overton Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overton Grange Ludlow
Hotel Overton Grange
Overton Grange Hotel Ludlow, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing