We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (87)
Filter reviews
87 results
Traveller rating
40
28
10
4
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
28
10
4
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubplaiceprawnslate arrivallow ceilingslovely foodwarm welcomerooms are cleanblackboardmenubroccoliroaststarterstrimmingsvegbridge
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 87 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2016

Popped into the Golden Ball for lunch with my husband yesterday lunchtime. The menu on the blackboard was so interesting, not just the bog standard pub lunch. We spent so much time deciding what to eat as everything sounded so lovely and delicious. Finally I ordered the garlic and rosemary marinated lamb chop on greek salad with crispy aubergines. My husband, who has an allergy to any brassicas, was delighted to have to choose between 5 delicious options! He chose the hake with prawns in a white wine sauce - I tasted it and it was delicious, will probably choose that next time. My lamb arrived on a plate of salad ringed by beautiful sliced tomatoes, such attention to detail and presentation. The food is cooked to perfection and presented so well. We paid £12.50 each for our meals, we had visited Pizza Express the previous day and paid just a couple of pounds less for a pizza - ,just bread, cheese and a few bits - absolutely no comparison. Golden Ball wins hands down :-)

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

Gorgeous and hearty Sunday lunch here. Would recommend. Lovely pub with lots of character and friendly staff. The Sunday lunch had a generous portion of meat and a homemade Yorkshire pudding and veg, other things were on the menu too and there was lots of choice.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2016

Popped in with husband for meal on a Monday lunchtime. As weather was warm we sat outside in the garden. Pub was fairly quiet as was the garden area. Bar staff who took our order was very pleasant and friendly. Ordered from blackboard and portions were huge but food was very tasty and well presented .Lovely little garden outside away from the road. Furniture a bit jaded but that didn't really detract from our experience.
Overall nice quirky little pup with a warm welcome and good standard food.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Glynn20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016

after having a good main meal with choice of meat for the roasts we asked for a sweet the four of us wanted ice cream trio which was vanilla ginger and rum and raisin we all chose to have vanilla unfortunately we were told as a consequence of stock rotation we could only have what was above. After complaining to the "one in charge" Lewis he raised his arms and said he has other things to do and walked off.
a spoilt meal just because OF STOCK ROTATION !! and because of the DISMISSIVE ATTITUDE OF CERTAIN STAFF!! we are very saddened and disappointed with our overall experience today.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
7  Thank Gailbirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Myself and a friend stayed here on a belated Christmas present jaunt.
Very quirky, lovely area, walkable into the main town to see the bridge and attractions.
We stayed in the Paradise room with the four poster and huge bathroom.
It was clean, tidy, well presented. Yes there are a few things that xpuld be done to give it the wow factor but it all depends what you want really.
A pleasant stay with friendly staff, lovely breakfast and quirky little pub. A great base for the area.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
Thank tippyfudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews