We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable - fun - different”

Blists Hill Victorian Town
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Ironbridge
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This reconstructed Victorian mining town is one of the best of its kind in England.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Enjoyable - fun - different”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Visited Blist Hill Victorian Town - and was pleasantly surprised. If you go into the "shops"/ "houses" etc the staff - all dressed in period costume are very interesting & well informed. I learned lots about candle making from a young "Victorian" lad in the candlemakers shop - and was seranaded by a drunken soldier etc etc . I have not enjoyed a museum trip this much in ages! You have to enter into the spirit and ask questions go into the places to take a look - and it is indeed jolly good fun. The other nice thing is that should you want to purchase some little things in the shops - cast iron mouse doorstop 2.00 - some pot things to paint 40 p each - you can actually do it without breaking the bank. (don't forget to change some modern cash in the bank so you can pay - but this is not the rip off that it might initially seem - quite educational having to convert and do the maths- and said items are too hefty in price (see above) so it is quite fun! Our previous trip was to Legoland - (a disaster) this place is MUCH MUCH better - if you are in the area - take your kids

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank shareforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,905 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,947
    689
    189
    55
    25
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great day out”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This is an interesting and entertaining place to spend a day. The town has an authentic feel and you can do everything from change your money to old coins, buy fresh bread and traditional fish & chips to having fun in the fair ground. The actors in the town are great and are more than happy to talk to you. Possibly not as much fun in the rain, but definitely well worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOncomingStorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great day out with or without kids”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Just so much fun and educational too. A must visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank FamilytravellerTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good but not good enough”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

The majority of the site was shut as other reviews have also stated. The chips in the chip shop where also incredibly expensive and were actually horrible.

We have been to beamish museum previously and expected similar quality but we learnt nothing new and the staff were more interested in each other than the visitors.

As with most museums now it was all about making money. The bread is lovely but you don't see how it's made neither do you see the sweets being made (you do in beamish), if I wanted pear drops I can go my local shop.

I remember coming here as a child and loving it. I am so disappointed, especially that they don't have the school lessons on a weekend when the majority of people with be there!

Such a shame and a lot of money!

Helpful?
1 Thank NatalieJayne120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“You will want to go back”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Visited Blists Hill in the seventies and eighties with the school, now I've taken the family. When purchasing a passport, it took us four days to see all the museums, but this was one place we re-visited each day. If anyone did go here with the school years ago, you will find there are places you can no longer go, such as the furnaces and bellows room, these are fenced off due for health and safety, but there is more to see. I can particularly recommend the bakery and fish and chip shop, but aim to be there around mid-day - it takes a while for them to get cooking, but once they have they sell out quickly! Also if you have a disabled person in your group, don't worry about how they will climb the hay incline plane - they have provided a lift to take people up to the canal

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blists Hill Victorian Town also viewed

Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge
 

Been to Blists Hill Victorian Town? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing