We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meadow Inn & Steakhouse
Ranked #6 of 9 Ironbridge B&B and Inns
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quite Surprised”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We decided to eat at The Meadow (6 of us) as the other restaurant we wanted to go to was full up. After a quick scan on tripadvisor I wasn't sure what to expect!

We were greeted well, and told we were at table 16, which we had to find ourselves. It would have been nice to be shown where our table was.

The waitress came to take out order, and we were told 3 items from the main menu weren't available. Thats fine, it happens. A few of the group ordered starters. I had a particularly interesting crayfish and marie rose/horseradish sauce cocktail. Very unusual, but delicious. All of the starters were very well presented, and of a good portion. The mains then came, very quickly, which was good. My main was Chicken Diane. Butterflied chicken cooked on a grill with diane sauce. With a choice of potatoes (sauted with garlic, dauphinoise or chips), the standard additions were half a corn on the cob, salad and onion rings. The chicken was delicious, the sauce was fine, and plenty of it. The only comment I'd make is that the salad didn't taste too fresh. It doesn't take a minute to revive in some cold water. We'd all finished the meal but 8.50pm, and we were then given a desert menu. Nobody came back to us! A couple of us wanted some sweetness after the meal, and I'd set my heart on waffles with ice cream and chocolate sauce. We also had to ask for the bill, so take heed The Meadow, a little more service will encourage more spending!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShropshireSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    79
    33
    17
    20
See reviews for
54
136
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed here for 1 night & also ate in the restaurant.
Firstly, the food was excellent, we had ribeye & fillet steaks, which were both good quality & cooked to perfection. When selecting your 'trimmings' go for the sauteed garlic potatoes - they're amazing. The service in the restaurant was excellent.
The room was in their annexe, just down the road & was on the ground floor. It was large, with high ceilings & a very large en-suite. There was an excellent selection of tea & coffee etc available. The room & bathroom were very clean.
The only negatives were the creaking floorboards from the people upstairs (who must've been playing 5-a-side football!) And the television, which at 15 inches (ish) was a bit too small for such a large room.
However, when the price is taken into consideration, the TV size doesn't really matter - we paid £130 total for our room, drinks in the bar (3 pints & a bottle of Shiraz) Steaks & desserts. Oh, & full English breakfast is also included, but we haven't had it yet, so we can't tell you what it was like!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Si_Sheena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haddenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We first stayed in October, 2011 and having bought a "Passport" to the Ironbridge museums valid for a year, we decided upon a return visit for a weekend in February 2012. Do not be dismayed by any recent negative comments from other users; we found The Meadow Inn to have maintained its standards in all respects. It has comfortable, warm and spacious accommodation which together with an excellent menu for Saturday night, an affordable wine list, and fast, pleasant and attentive service made for an excellent wedding anniversary weekend. We thoroughly recommend the Meadow Inn and shall be returning later in the year.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

I have been to the meadow several times and have always enjoyed it.
Went in Nov 2011 with 4 friends for our early xmas do. It was rather busy when we arrived-which we didnt mind as we like to mull over the menus!
we opted for the 2 for £22 grill night -which is any grill of the specific menu and a bottle of wine to share. We asked the waitress what type of red wine it would be- which she replied-"its just the one that comes with it", confused at this response my friend asked what it was called, again she replied "we dont sell this wine, it just comes in the caraf as part of the deal". I then asked her if she knew the name on the bottle it comes in and she just said she didnt but its very nice".
to avoid any further confusion we said we would have it anyway- it came to the table labelled "merlot"- funny that!
our meals came and they were all presented perfectly, our steaks cooked to our individual preferences beautifully.
Dessert came out and we were all very happy-empty plates all round.
My friend then asked the waitress (a younger girl this time) which types of port they had on offer to go with her cheese board, and how much is it per shot. She looked rather confused and answered 50- she was referring to the quantity which made us all giggle as Becky meant the price. She said she'd go and ask at the bar and returned with the bottle and the correct price.
overall the food was fantastic, the service was good however the waiting staff werent very clued up on the types of drinks or how to react when not sure.
i will be returning as the food is always excellent and good quality. The meadow do good deals too.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abbermay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Second Time x 1 night at the Meadow Inn, great food, good clean spacious rooms, staff friendly, reasonable price. 10 minute walk into inronbridge.. look forward to my next visit..

suggest rooms which do not look on to main road especially during summer months

Room Tip: suggest rooms which do not look on to main road especially during summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnydays24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.4 km away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
908 reviews
0.8 km away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
3.7 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Tontine Hotel
The Tontine Hotel
#3 of 3 in Ironbridge
155 reviews
1.2 km away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 9 in Ironbridge
94 reviews
2.0 km away
The Bird in Hand Inn
The Bird in Hand Inn
#3 of 9 in Ironbridge
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadow Inn & Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadow Inn & Steakhouse

Property: Meadow Inn & Steakhouse
Address: Buildwas Road, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7BJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ironbridge
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,556 - ₹ 6,912
Hotel Class:4 star — Meadow Inn & Steakhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Meadow Inn & Steakhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meadow Inn And Steakhouse
Meadow Inn & Steakhouse Hotel Ironbridge
Meadow Inn & Steakhouse Ironbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing