We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old and tired”
Review of The Tontine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Tontine Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Reviewed 1 April 2012

stayed a single night in Ironbridge Gorge at the Tontine, and it wasn't the best night. Our room was right above the doorway to the hotel, so all the smokers from the pub came out and talked, drank, and swore until late. As the hotel is so old, their isn't any sound protection, so we heard every word, (I learnt a few new words too!), form below, and the room next door. The room was small, tired, and need of some TLC.
Breakfast was the most basic we have seen, instant coffee, no fruit, just toast you cook yourself and some packet cereal.
Free wifi is good in the public areas, not the rooms. It is directly opposite the Iron Bridge, and a few alms from the museums. There is free parking in the adjacent council car park.

Room Tip: a room on the top floor may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Johnandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tontine1, Owner at The Tontine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2012

Thank you for you recent review. I fully understand the point about the smokers. In an ideal world we would install double glazing but unfortunately this is a grade 2* listed building so it is not allowed. However we are currently introducing a new smoking area at the side of the building.
I am unsure as to what u mean by "late" as generally we close the doors to the public between eleven and twelve. I would not consider this to be a late bar. During the week Ironbridge is very quiet but it can get a bit lively at the weekend with visitors who like to pubcrawl along the pubs by the river. We find that by ten oclock everyone has moved away from here to the other end of Ironbridge where they have live music. However people do sometimes have to pass this hotel on the way back home. Although it is an irregular occurance it does happen and unfortunately I cannot control the flow of traffic past the building.
I do not understand the point about the rooms being tired looking. However I do believe that everyone has particular tastes and as much as we would like to, you cant please everyone.
You must remember that this building is over 200 years old and floorboards will creak and walls will not be 100% straight. Its full of character and if this is not what you want then i would suggest a Travel Lodge perhaps.
The main point of my reply this review is the comments about the breakfast. Our breakfast is a full English breakfast as advertised. When booking the guest is asked if they would like breakfast . If they do the charge is only approx £3.00 per person. For that price you get a choice of 2 cereals, a full english breakfast, unlimited toast with jams/marmalade and unlimited tea/coffee. Where else could you possibly get all that for £3.00 ???????. If people do have special dietry requirements or maybe just want something different just let us know on booking and we will go out of our way to help you. Thanks again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2012

After searching through the web for a hotel in ironbridge we settled on the Tontine Hotel, on arrival we were welcomed by the manager who was very polite, we also met the owner who again was very polite.

The room was clean and tidy and we had a great nights sleep.

We had lunch which was great although we did not have dinner as we were at a wedding, carvery on a Sunday we highly recommend.

On arriving back at the hotel after the wedding we attended, we had a few drinks before bed and the staff were great.

All in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spursjay41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I parked just across the road - over the iron bridge! Really fiendly staff and the room was exactly what I had hoped for. Such good value too - only 25 quid.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Millstonebarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

After a long drive from London the Tontine was a welcome oasis. Friendly and extremely helpful staff plus clean rooms.
I can highly recommend a stay here, you'll have a great experience.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claw01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

I spent Halloween at the Tontine Hotel and for a person of my age (42) I must say that I had an absolutely wonderful time. The room was very clean and the breakfast was excellent. , To top it off you can have an excellent meal there for under £10 and its the best service you could want. Well done to all the staff. If you want to stay in one of Shropshires best & nicest spots then you wouldnt go far wrong here.

Room Tip: Ask the staff, their very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ironbridge
0.9 km away
Best Western Valley Hotel
Best Western Valley Hotel
#1 of 3 in Ironbridge
966 reviews
0.5 km away
The Swan hotel smoke and taphouse
6.5 km away
Ramada Hotel Telford Ironbridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Mercure Telford Madeley Court Hotel
2.5 km away
Telford Hotel & Golf Resort
0.0 km away
Bridge View Guest House
Bridge View Guest House
#1 of 10 in Ironbridge
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tontine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tontine Hotel

Address: The Square, Ironbridge, Ironbridge Gorge TF8 7AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Ironbridge Gorge > Ironbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Ironbridge
Price Range: ₹ 5,773 - ₹ 7,524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Ironbridge
The Tontine Hotel Ironbridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing