We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good park but very steep!”
Review of Meersbrook Park

Meersbrook Park
Ranked #60 of 150 things to do in Sheffield
Attraction details
Reviewed 10 December 2014 via mobile

As Sheffield is built on 7 hills there are bound to be places that are steep - this park is a fine example of such hills. But don't be put off. The climb up is worth it - you get a fantastic view of the city. My husband and I spent half an hour playing 'name the building'.
The play area was clean and good.
A good park for picnics and working on leg muscles!

1  Thank jooon83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"bishop's house"
in 5 reviews
"chesterfield"
in 2 reviews
"skate"
in 3 reviews
"architecture"
in 2 reviews
"play"
in 3 reviews
Filter

15 - 19 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2014

We often stroll through this park. There are spectacular views and some of the best views in Sheffield. Benches to sit, pause and take in the views. Great for sledging in the snow. Different views with the changing of the light during the day. Wonderful for firework watching. Friendly dog walkers.

Date of experience: December 2014
1  Thank DJD2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our closest park so we walk though it a lot on the way to work or elsewhere. Always pleasant. Sometimes we take a picnic in summer. Good playground for those with Kiddies, tennis courts, a skateboardy thingy, excellent walled garden and of course Bishops House so there really is something for everyone. Did I mention the views? Excellent .

Date of experience: August 2014
1  Thank Gaynlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Along with Abbeydale Industrial Hamlet and Kelham Island, this is one of Sheffield's smaller museums that I had known about for more than 30 years, before I had visited it.

Over the years, I have spent many an hour visiting a wide variety of historic buildings in the UK and further afield - most of which have been constructed on a much grander scale - but the modesty of the Bishop's House appealed to me.

Sheffield isn't known for its architectural heritage, despite the proximity of good stone which, in other places in Yorkshire, have been used elaborately to express the wealth of their owners; it is therefore a great surprise to find a well preserved timber framed house here.

I have always thought that the Old Queen's Head public house, on Pond Hill next to Sheffield Interchange, is quite remarkable - not least for it having never been destroyed by the wave of post-war development that took place around it. Students of Sheffield's architecture should really make the effort to visit this special place and I can say the same for the Bishop's House.

The fact that I spent less than 20 minutes here doesn't reflect upon its architectural and historical value in any way - I was just more keen to take a walk around one of Sheffield's renowned green spaces in the summer sunshine. That said, it was time enough to see some fine architectural details, wander up and down a couple of old staircases, whilst minding your head or negotiating the potential trip hazards when stepping across the various thresholds into different rooms.

There are some nice examples of Tudor furniture and the rooms are full of household items, which I am sure that the many school groups who visit this place will find very interesting; however, like my visit to Abbeydale Industrial Hamlet, it seems obvious that this museum is way down the list of Sheffield's priorities for spending money - especially as far as the presentation is concerned.

My lasting impression of visiting Bishop's House will be its fantastic oak floorboards and then walking down through Meersbrook Park, where the steep escarpment opens up great views across the centre of Sheffield and a few other interesting details can be seen...

Date of experience: July 2014
1  Thank ScottEngering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I regularly walk through Meersbrook Park on my way from Norton Lees down to the shops on Chesterfield Road. It's a stunning walk with spectacular views over Sheffield, across local neighbourhoods of Nether Edge and Ecclesall to the city centre and beyond to Houndkirk and Totley Moors in the distance. Lots of dog walkers and a lovely children's playground and skate bowl.

It is also the location of one of Sheffield's best-kept secrets, an informal gathering of locals on New Year's Eve to watch the fireworks exploding all over the city, right out to the horizon. Locals bring champagne and snacks and cheer at the strike of twelve. Our favourite place to be on NYE bar none.

At the top of Meersbrook park is one of the oldest houses in Sheffield, now a museum, the tudor Bishop's House which is a must see and also now regularly puts gigs on in the evenings.

Well worth a visit even in winter. Catch a 20, 20A or 53 bus and get off on Chesterfield Rd opposite Lidl, then walk through to the bottom of the park and have a stroll to the top. Great exercise rewarded by a stunning view.

Date of experience: May 2014
3  Thank sparklingmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Meersbrook Park also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Meersbrook Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing