We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“nice apartment up in the hills above High...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jonathan1...
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“nice apartment up in the hills above High Bradfield”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The apartment was clean and cozy. It's a one-story building, so there's no noise from people upstairs. I only rarely heard the person staying in the adjoining apartment. The windows look out to a paved courtyard on one side, and a lawn/yard/childrens-play-set on the other side. There are chickens around outside, so it's useful to have a flashlight (torch) to watch one's step at night to avoid droppings.

I could only get weak cellphone signals in the cottage, and couldn't get a reliable wi-fi signal. I got good cellphone reception a few minute's walk up Peak Pits Lane from the cottage.

The owners were very friendly and helpful, and were kind enough to pick me up at Sheffield train station when I arrived, and take me back there when I departed. If you don't have a car, Peak Pits Farm is a steep 30-40 minute walk uphill from High Bradfield. If you're physically fit it's a great walk, with panoramic views of the valley as you climb the hill. (It might be a difficult walk if there's snow or ice.) There is a twice/hour bus service from High Bradfield to/from Sheffield, connecting with the Sheffield Supertram. (Unfortunately the bus was sometimes not that punctual.)

A tip: cars often drive very fast on the narrow (1-lane) roads, so it's good to wear a bright-color reflective vest if you're walking, and step off the road onto the grass when a car approaches. A torch is also very useful at night -- this is a rural area with no street lighting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peaceful & quiet, beautiful rural location
Liked least: cars drive very fast on narrow 1-lane roads, with little space for pedestrians
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 May 2016
Thank you very much Jonathan for you kind review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you didn't manage to connect your computer to our Wi-Fi. Both cottages share the same Wi-Fi hub and the gentleman staying next door didn't have a problem during his stay and nor did we when we tested it on our tablet. We assumed it may have been something to do with the lap top you were using. We do hope you come and stay with us again on your next visit to the area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dja050
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“superb holiday cottage”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed here for a long weekend whilst visiting family in Sheffield. A beautiful cottage, very nicely decorated and equipped. In a fairly isolated position yet close to amenities and amongst lovely places for a good walk.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feel and atmosphere
Liked least: Nothing I did not like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June958
Bessines-sur-Gartempe, France
1 review
“Cosy and Inviting”
Reviewed 9 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a wonderful week in this peaceful spot. Cosy, well equipped cottage, surrounded by amazing countryside. The welcome package of local produce was a bonus, many thanks Sara.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnica G
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Nice cosi cottage”
Reviewed 7 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

IT is a beautiful area in THE middel of nowhere , but Very close to Sheffield.
A big garden for THE kids so they can play.
THE cottage is Very Nice, with a Nice bed an a Very good sofabed. inside THE house iT is a bit dark because of THE little Windows
Very friendly ownership.
We Will come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: THE area
Liked least: THE little Windows in THE livingroom.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silvana C
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, beautiful countryside”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a lovely stay at peat pits farm. Sara and her family went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. The cottage is beautiful, clean and very well equipped. Sara thought of everything, little touches such as a welcome tray with some local produce , fresh bread and some eggs from her chicken as well as milk and butter.
Beautiful countryside around the cottage and the added benefit of Sheffield City centre and Meadow hall shopping centre being just a stones throw away too.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing