We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveller rating
182
81
32
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
182
81
32
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa bathlamb cutletssteak and ale piebirthday partyfunction roomcourse mealmain barbar mealsincluded breakfastquality hotelfantastic valueroom was largefollowing morningmember of stafffull english breakfastfantastic hotelnight stay
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed at the staindrop for our annual reunion, the executive room we booked was huge (took us by surprise) and the staff were very friendly. We had our dinner in the pub part of the hotel, service and food were spot on, we enjoyed it so much that we decided to spend the evening there instead of going out. On the second night food was again spot on, the only problem we encountered was one of the meals being missed which was very quickly rectified.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

Had a lovely family meal here today. The food was excellent can't fault it at all. We were looked after very well by the lovely staff . All the starters and mains were lovely especially my partners Lamb Cutlets they looked divine. Beautiful food in a beautiful place

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Diana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

So we stopped by for a casual bite to eat after work on a Tuesday night. The team were great. The food was great and their wines are great too. Nicola and Rachel, were, in particular very attentive, friendly and couldn't do enough to make sure we were looked after. It's these little touches that make the Customer Service stand out and memorable. Our friends said they would return very soon. They were very impressed as we always are.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Matt_and_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy561, Manager at Staindrop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for you kind review.
We do pride ourselves in our customer service, it is always nice to read these reviews.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017 via mobile

I was booked into Staindrop after a problem at my usual hotel which I stay in on average once a week.

The room is clean and ok. The bar is very noisy as it has all wood floors and had families with babies crying which at 730pm is a bit late for all that.

The food was ok and the staff are really pleasant and friendly.

Good if you want to watch football with friends but not as comfortable as nearby Whitley Hall.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

We just recently visited this hotel for a wedding. On arrival we welcomed by a friendly receptionist who was very helpful. We then headed to our room which was amazing for the price we paid, big and tidy. The wedding was great and the wedding buffet was absolutely delightful.

We woke the following morning for breakfast and sadly this was a bit of a car crash, very poor service and and had to ask for absolute everything. The staff were not very accommodating and I felt embarrassed to have to keep asking for everything. It took ages before being asked what we wanted and then we had to ask for a hot drink which didn't come with anything so had to ask for a spoon, sugar and milk etc.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Bonnie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy561, Manager at Staindrop Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2017

Thank you for your recent review.
I was disappointed to read you did not have a good experience at breakfast. We do always have a manager on duty, I do wish you had requested to speak to them on the day so we could have corrected this at the time.
Breakfast is generally very popular with our guests and our service is generally of a very high standard. I will be looking into why this was not the case when you stayed with us.
Please accept my apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews