We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value - £40 for night - newest HIEXP format”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Ranked #14 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Excellent value - quiet room with the very latest smart Holiday Inn Express Format. Room looked hardly used. Wasnt recognised as a Priority Customer on arrival and the same bland breakfast. How come every HIEXP Ive stayed in in the past year have cold baked beans!!

Anyway great value and within walking distance of Sheffield Centre

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrewbr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback.

I will look into why the free breakfast had cold items on the display and we have hotplates to keep them warm thoughout.

Hope to welcome you back soon

Steven Vandevelde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

861 - 865 of 958 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights - £34 p/n for 2 inc breakfast - excellent value.
Rooms are all alike, modern and attractive.
Some rooms have a view of the River Don.
Breakfast is standard HIx but perfectly good and excellent for the money.
Reception staff were pleasant and helpful.
Breakfast is from 6:30-10:30 but you could still get drinks for a while after this.
Location is excellent - just 10 minute walk from City Centre and station.

Room Tip: I always try to stay on a high floor to avoid noise, however, noise is not a big problem in this loc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your feedback

hope to welcome you back soon

Steven Vandevelde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We found ourselves once again in Sheffield for the swimming at Ponds Forge. We had a very good 2 nights sleep, the bed was comfortable, the pillows great and NO Noise. The room was up to date, tidy but could have done with a better clean. Bathroom clean and it was great to see a large walkin shower, good for my disabled son. Downside towels were dirty, and no bathmat on the second night, slippery tiles, I almost fell after a shower.
The bar food was ok although it would be nice to see some pasta on the menu. Staff friendly and efficient. Would I stay again yes.

Room Tip: Most rooms look to be in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally444Derbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest

I was sorry to learn the bath linnen was not up to scratch.

I will monitor and adress with the innen company as we strive for the best standards at all times.

Many thanks for brining this to my attention and I hope to welcome you back for your next swimming gala.

Steven Vandevelde

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

When booking online it said WiFi but did not state that this is a subject to a separate charge. Neither did it state that you have to pay extra for parking.

Also on the subject of WiFi, it says 'high speed' but it actually is 512kbps (says on the leaflet and measured). Not very high speed, appalling in fact.

Other than that rooms very nice and clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bijomaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest

I would be interested to know where you found the information on Wifi and carparking as we have always charged as many other city centre properties.

feel free to contact me direct as I would like to rectify the website that has this conflicting information.

Steven Vandevelde ( gm@holidayinnsheffield.co.uk)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Overall the hotel was modern and well located - we were visiting our son at Sheffleld Hallam University. However, we asked twice to be changed to a different room as the first two rooms were dirty. In both of the bathrooms the toilet seat was splattered with urine on the seat and pan - clearly the toilet had not been cleaned. I only noticed just before using the toilet as the lighting was quite dim - thankfully I did see. In future I shall take a good look as I always expect an ensuite to be clean! Also in the second room the surfaces around the sink had not been wiped and still had toothpaste stains from the last occupant.

The third room we were given was ok although I did worry as to whether the sheets had been changed as although they looked clean there was obviously a problem with the supervision of the cleaners.

The reception staff were very helpful and apologetic and I cannot fault them - but I would be wary of staying in this hotel again, due to poor standards of cleanliness.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SVandevelde, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2012

Dear Guest

many thanks for your feedback.

I can confirm we have identified the cleaner that was not performing as we and you would expect and has since left the property.

I can ensure you this is not our normal high standard as you can tell from the many other reviews.

I hope you will try us again. feel free to contact me direct

Steven Vandevelde ( gm@holidayinnsheffield.co.uk)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.7 km away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.2 km away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,518 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,081 reviews
0.9 km away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
2 km away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre

Address: Blonk Street, Sheffield S1 2AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#20 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: ₹ 3,516 - ₹ 11,576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre is conveniently situated within a few minutes walk to Sheffield City Centre and overlooks the River Don. Hotel within a 5 minutes walk to Ponds forge, Sheffield City Centre, Sheffield train station and the Supertram network. An ideal stop for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing