We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Russell Scott Hostel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Russell Scott Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Russell Scott Hostel
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Russell Scott Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hostel is ideally situated 10 min from the city centre and 15 min from the train station by tram at Infirmary Road.

The hostel is good value at £25 with the option to have your own room, cook your meals and a communal freeview TV in the lounge.

It is also ideal for those looking for a city break where for a night or more. It is also those wanting to dictate there own time of when to eat and sleep which is an attractive alternative to a cheap bed and breakfast in my view.

In addition there is a medium sized Tescos, bars nearby and plenty of communal bathrooms so you can shower without waiting for someone to finish.

I would recommend this venue for anyone whether single, with friends or a couple seeking a low budget comfortable hostel within easy reach of Sheffield

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    9
    4
    27
See reviews for
2
2
16
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2011

I would not recommend this place to anyone - you'd have to be really desperate!
Not clean. NOT friendly staff - in fact most unhelpful - walls like cardboard so you can hear every thing your fellow inmates are doing especially the toilet which I tried not to use much for obvious reasons. Didn't feel secure and I pushed table up against door so I felt I could drop off.
Telly didn't work and further more they could not even find my booking which I made 4 days before. In my opinion I'd rather camp in a tent or pay more money and stay in a better place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jill j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

I needed a very cheap place to crash in Sheffield, so this hostel seemed to be the best choice.

Friends of mine had stayed there before and warned me about the quality of the beds, but being used to crashing on friends' sofas I thought, "how bad can it be?" Unfortunately, it was that bad. I slept maybe two - three hours that night as I felt every single spring of the mattrass, which was well beyond its prime.

I was in a girls' 4 bed dorm, and the other girl staying there slept through the night, so maybe it was just my bed.

The hostel wasn't easy to find and if you don't drive, you'll need o splash out for a cab (which will probably cost more than the room itself). I don't know where the nearest bus stops are, I didn't see any, but the hostel is up a hill and the street is very steep.

I checked out a night early, but still paid for both nights.

My paypal payment didn't go through (I kept getting error messages, using the hotel's own computer to settle my bill) so that lead to further complications.

On the plus side:
- it is REALLY cheap
- breakfast is included (help-yourself-to-cereal-or-toast style)
- the guy at reception was friendly and ever offered to help me carry my suitcase upstairs
- there was not much going on there that night so even in a dorm it was almost like having the room to myself
- it seems to be quite easy-going there, so I guess any concern could have been addressed if I would have been bothered.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkalfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

It is not a five star hotel it is a backpackers hostel saying so my stay was very comfortable generous breakfast through out the day tea coffee as well. It was clean quite met some good people and for the money you pay it is well worth the stay. Will visit again. Staff excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ramnat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
6.4 km away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#36 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
2.0 km away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,983 reviews
2.6 km away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
1.9 km away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#35 of 54 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.9 km away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Russell Scott Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Russell Scott Hostel

Property: Russell Scott Hostel
Address: 28 Brandreth Road, Sheffield S6 3JU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Speciality Lodging in Sheffield
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,170 - ₹ 2,508
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We at Russell Scott Hostels also known as R S Hostels offer our guests safe, secure, clean, spacious budget accommodation being the only backpackers hostel in Sheffield, South Yorkshire. We are not profit driven. With you having a great time in Sheffield and staying with us, is all we wish for! We do not believe in making extra from you, your basic needs are all taken care of - internet access, washing machine, bed linen, breakfast all inclusive in the room/bed rate.We believe that small is beautiful. We pride ourselves in offering cheap accommodation by which we don't mean over crowding the place or reduce the facilities we offer. For example our dorms have single beds in them and the maximum no of people in our dorm is six even though the room could easily accommodate eight people. Knowing what it is like to be a backpacker/traveller and knowing little needs go a long way, we decided to provide value for money accommodation with no compromise whatsoever on the quality or most of the perks that you would enjoy in a star hotel for one third of the price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Russell Scott Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing