We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (70)
Filter reviews
70 results
Traveller rating
27
24
7
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
24
7
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsleafy areaold victorianlate checkpeak districtsingle roomquiet locationa lovely stayroom was spaciousother gueststea and coffeeplace to stayone night stayon arrivalsalbnbfireplacesnooker
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 70 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2018

Sal and others couldn't have been more welcoming or flexible. made us feel really speacial. Loved that the room had character and lots of light coming in. woke up to birds singing -what could be better. Loved the character of the building and garden too.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalDaji, Owner at The Briary, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2018

Hello Lynda I am so pleased to hear that you both thoroughly enjoyed The Briary, our rooms and hospitality. Finally the sun has come out and it has filled our building with the warmth and brightness it deserves to bring the best out of the building. Thank you for your kind words and we very much look forward to hosting and welcoming you once again on your next visit to Sheffield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

The hotel is easy to find and get to and in a quiet location. Clean and comfy room, beds and ensuite. Nice big bath towel. Lots of hot water. Plentiful breakfast. Friendly and accommodating owner. Lovely big window

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJN65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalDaji, Owner at The Briary, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay and were both comfortable and warm. I am happy that you went on your way having enjoyed your breakfast. Look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Sheffield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

The room was large and comfortable, perfect for two people. You had coffee and tea in the room.

The breakfast was very good, the host asks you and is aware of what you want and need. He is a very attentive, kind person.

The situation of the hotel was good, it was not in the center of the city but at the door you had a bus stop that takes you to the center and very close there is a mini market and some shop and bar to eat.

Without a doubt, I recommend it 100% and will return if the opportunity arises.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalDaji, Owner at The Briary, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hi Joana, thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased that you and your father were both made to feel welcome and enjoyed your experience and our hospitality at The Briary. I was delighted to hear that your father enjoyed the World Snooker championships at the Crucible theatre especially as you travelled from Spain. Hopefully we shall see you on your next visit to Sheffield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

First impressions were excellent. The property is charming with off-road parking and flexible check-in and out times. You are given a key to come and go as you please so if you're out partying late, you can still get in at 3 in the morning!
The host was delightful. The breakfast was excellent, every need was taken care of, they even provided recommendations on taxis which was very useful and saved us some money!
The interior decor is a little mis-matched and tired in places, although the beds were comfortable and the room was spacious and warm. If great customer service and value for money are at the top of your priority list then I would wholly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alex Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalDaji, Owner at The Briary, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hi Alex, I am so pleased you Katrina and Charlie all had a great time in Sheffield and at The Briary. I am very pleased to hear that your stay was both comfortable, enjoyable and good value for money. Looking forward to receiving you and your friends on your next visit to Sheffield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2018 via mobile

Comfortable and welcoming for the solo traveller, I would recommend staying here. amenities provided in a warm and cosy room with choice of continental or cooked breakfast. Great service &friendly host. Quiet surroundings and space for parkimg cars in the guesthouse grounds. Easy to locate. Thank you for a lovely stay!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SalDaji, Owner at The Briary, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Hello Helen, thank you for your very kind words. I am so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay at The Briary and were made to feel welcome. We very much look forward to hosting you once again on your next visit to Sheffield.
Sal - Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews