We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame.”

The Prince of Wales
Ranked #209 of 1,562 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 30
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Food was good when it finally came. Poor service throughout. Lots of table mix ups wrong orders coming out.

1  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hey Jon,
Any feedback is greatly appreciated and although we do our absolute utmost to ensure every one enjoys their experience with us we know somtimes we do not meet guests expectations. We are extremely eager to solve the issue you encountered. Could you please send an email too enquiry@theprinceofwalessheffield.co.uk with a quick summary lf when you came and what you ordered. Please address the email to Mat.
Thanks
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We visited here twice in the same week when we were in the Sheffield area. The first time we went for dinner and the second time we went for lunch. These were both amazing meals. The best meals were sharing platter (lunch), fish cakes and carne pizza (dinner). I suggest the chef should take off the skin of the fish before battering and frying it. The best desserts were the sticky toffee pudding and the ice creams.

Table service is brilliant with friendly experienced staff on hand.

Toilets are clean and are plenty of cubicles.

There is plenty of parking even at busy times alongside the outdoor seating area.

At lunchtime, there are special discounts for certain combinations of dishes

1  Thank FomzineJunior7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thankyou for your recent 5* review! Its great that you visited twice in a week and loved it on both occassions. I will pass your comment on to the kitchen team r.e the fish. We hope to ses you back soon. Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

There were 4 of us on a Saturday evening. One starter was not available as one main had to be changed as that wasn't available either.

Food was very nice but the restaurant needs to be prepared for demand at a popular time.

Thank Jasper230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Jasper230.

Thank you for taking the tome to review our restaurant. I am sorry to hear we had sold out of a couple of things. I will feed this back to the head chef.
If you would like to discuss this further please feel free to call us on 0114 2369176 or email at enquiry@theprinceofwalessheffield.co.uk

Stefan Lumb.
Assistant manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

My evening meal on Sunday was almost inedible. The Prince of Wales is very conveniently located for us and has a lovely ambience, but the food was so bad that I don’t think we’ll be going back.

2  Thank Sheffield45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hello.

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am very sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the food. If you would like to discuss this further please call us on 0114 2369176 or email me at enquiry@theprinceofwalessheffield.co.uk

Stefan Lumb.
Assistant manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Our family of fifteen visited last night and well what can I say? Fantastic evening, food was superb (woke up thinking about my steak this morning!). The service we received was also excellent. Thank you Prince of Wales, can't wait to come back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Prince of Wales, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hi Sharon.

Thank you for your 5* review. We are glad to here you enjoyed your visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Stefan Lumb.
Assistant manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prince of Wales also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing