We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant ”
Review of Admiral Rodney

Admiral Rodney
Ranked #279 of 1,608 Restaurants in Sheffield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent meal, brilliant friendly staff, Katesbridge a lovely happy smiley lady. Danny's very helpful. Food excellent, choice very good. Just reopened and a pleasure to visit. Price very reasonable, good beers on offer. Very good day dropped on accidentally. Vintage Inns

1  Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi Robert,

We would like to say thank you for leaving us such a kind review after your latest visit with us at the Admiral Rodney.

The feedback we have received from our guests since reopening after our exciting refurbishment has been incredibly positive and motivating. We are thrilled that the hospitality you received during your visit was personable and helpful. Your comments have certainly been passed onto our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Admiral Rodney in the near future.

Kind regards, Danny and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Called in...as I am a local...The 'make over' looks good...looks alot spacious....My family had food...I had a couple of wine's...maybe the way forward is 'Theme nights'&Cocktail's?&offers.. Well done Dan&all staff at Rodney on the move forward....Julie...

Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hello Julie,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your latest visit with us. We have received very positive comments so far, especially from our regulars, who absolutely love how the Admiral Rodney looks and feels after the refurbishment. Hopefully, it will encourage guests who have not visited us, or who perhaps have not been to us in a while, to come by and enjoy the food, drinks, hospitality and surroundings, as you have done.

Many thanks, Dan, and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

We were a party of 12 and the staff were very friendly and helpful and could not do more to accommodate us. In our party we had a vegetarian and gluten intolerant diner and they made a dish not on the menu for her. For me and my husband too they accommodated our wishes and gave us meals not on the menu. The restaurant is scheduled to be closed 16/10-20/10 for renovations and I would like to go back to this place. We had visited here years ago and will definitely go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MariseD2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2017

Hi Marise,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write us a Trip Advisor review, which shines such a positive light on our team, and the way in which we will make sufficient effort to ensure that our guests have an enjoyable experience with us.

Certainly, we take allergy and dietary restrictions very seriously at the Admiral Rodney, and we are always happy, where possible, to offer suitable alternatives.

We are now back open after our exciting refurbishment, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Admiral Rodney in the very near future.

Kind regards, Danny and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017

We dined here on two consecutive days over the weekend whilst the restaurant side was being renovated. The food was good on the first evening and a little bit off on the second. The service is a bit hit and miss but everybody is very friendly.

Will certainly go there again after the renovation is complete and a new menu is promised.

Good selection of beers but be careful when one asks for a pint of Ghost Ship it can easily be mispronounced !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Good evening Dave,

We would like to thank you for leaving us a constructive Trip Advisor review, as we always appreciate and take into account guest feedback.

You visited us at the Admiral Rodney during the early stages of our much anticipated refurbishment. As a team we made a strong effort to ensure that the level of service and quality of food remained high during the days when sections of the pub were undergoing refurbishment. Subsequently, we are disappointment to read that you were not entirely satisfied during both of your visits with us, your concerns and praises have been passed onto the team.

However, we are delighted to hear that you plan on returning to us after the refurbishment (we reopen on Saturday 20th October). We look forward to your return, and as always will welcome your feedback, in particular your unfortunate mispronunciations!

Take care, Danny and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Visited with a party of 8 for a 90th birthday the staff couldn’t do enough for us from arriving to going home first class eatery Thank you Admiral Rodney

Thank fluff57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a momentous birthday celebration with us at The Admiral Rodney.

We always try to go the extra mile to ensure our guests have the best dining experience whilst visiting us, so it is always satisfying to receive such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes, Danny, Tom, and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Admiral Rodney also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Worrall, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Admiral Rodney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing