We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place”
Review of Admiral Rodney

Admiral Rodney
Ranked #190 of 1,528 Restaurants in Sheffield
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Visited with a party of 8 for a 90th birthday the staff couldn’t do enough for us from arriving to going home first class eatery Thank you Admiral Rodney

Thank fluff57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Thank you for choosing to celebrate such a momentous birthday celebration with us at The Admiral Rodney.

We always try to go the extra mile to ensure our guests have the best dining experience whilst visiting us, so it is always satisfying to receive such positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes, Danny, Tom, and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (404)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 38 of 404 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2017 via mobile

Really enjoyed our work meal here, the food was really nice and the staff were friendly. Good portions! Really nice and cozy inside, can imagine it being really cute in winter with the fire going! Will definitely be returning with my family!

Thank Coralie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Coralie, we are very pleased to read that you really enjoyed your work night out with us, so much so that you are planning on returning with your family, it is a great compliment to our team!

We look forward to welcoming you back over the winter months, when the fires are roaring, the ambiance is excellent. Additionally, why not take a look at our festive menu, which is available now, and consider making a festive booking?

Kind regards, Danny, Tom and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017

ours was party of six ,we had a very warm & friendly welcome, drinks were served quite quickly
very prompt taking the orders, good service, the food arrived all the meals were very hot
this is the second time I have been here, and the standard is still very high,
The price of the meals are ,very good value for money.
The view from the front of the pub is beautiful, its well situated.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank raytaximan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Ray,
Congratulations on your anniversary, we are thrilled that you chose to celebrate it with us at the Admiral Rodney.

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor, we really appreciated receiving your review. We are delighted that everything went so well on your visit, that the level of service was efficient and to a high standard, and that you enjoyed your meals, as well as the views.

We hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards, The Admiral Rodney Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The Admiral Rodney is part of a chain, but has a real individual charm and style of its own. Warm welcome (well, we were in Yorkshire) and shown to a table for the four of us, with great views. Plenty of menu choice to suit most pockets, and the steak on the first night was superb. Likewise the duck pate two of us had. We had such a good time we booked on the spot for the following evening, even got the same table. The Admiral Rodney is very popular, so booking is recommended. Two thoroughly enjoyable evenings, and highly recommended. The Admiral certainly is a happy ship. We do hope the intended short-term closure for renovations in October 2017 won't impact on the staff too much, they work so hard and deserve a bit of a break! We'll be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank edmac_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Ed, we just wanted to respond to you to say thank you for leaving us such a positive and thoughtful review. It really makes our jobs worthwhile when we read that our guests have enjoyed such a wonderful experience with us.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to The Admiral Rodney next time you are visiting Sheffield. Until then, we send you our best wishes.

Kind regards, Danny and the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Good service(as alway's) Fab veg pizza&chips to share&coffee's&mini choc brownies...Great place...be even better when it's had it's 'make over'....

Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Admiral Rodney, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Thank you for the 5* Trip Advisor review Julie. We are very pleased to read that the service here at the Admiral Rodney continues to be of a high standard and that you enjoyed your meals and desserts.

We look forward to seeing you after the refurbishment. There are going to be some exciting changes, and as always we will welcome your feedback.

Kind regards, Danny, Tom, and the Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Admiral Rodney also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Admiral Rodney? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing