We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Beech House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beech House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent 3 night at the Beech House and were really impressed with the service, decor and cleanliness. For what is really a B+B, this hotel offers personal service, a great breakfast, comfortable rooms and lounge. The attention of the owner is well above the norm in this day and age. A great place to B+B.

Room Tip: For peace and quiet, choose a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2077richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    88
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
48
108
30
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

Yes, I stayed over 4 months in 2011, most of the time there together with friends who had the same circumstances as me - my house was ruined by a water leak and while it dried out I had to stay in a local hotel.
If you stay somewhere for a few months you expect to see the failings and weaknesses in the running of the hotel, but we honestly couldn't fault anything. No, this is not a top class London hotel - the prices reflect this - but we were treated so well, nothing was too much trouble, I put on over a stone because of the generous breakfasts, housekeeping was regular and the rooms were kept clean.
We drive past regularly and always look and say, "We lived there" almost with a sense of nostalgia. No better recommendation than this!!

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

Our family have just used the Beech House Hotel, Reading, as a base for our daughter's wedding at nearby Bradfield College.We could not have made a better choice. We booked 4 rooms on different nights, but the hotel coped easily with our comings and goings. All the rooms were excellent in every respect, the breakfasts delicious and the whole atmosphere in the hotel was restful, relaxing and very welcoming. What made it special for us, however, was the way that from the moment we arrived, or even booked, the management, lead by Ali, could not do enough for us.Luggage was carried, flowers placed in water, requests anticipated and everything possible done to help us in every detail. The hotel experience contributed in no small way to the success of the occasion. A fabulous hotel, wonderful personnel,- superb in all respects. Can't recommend more warmly. Thank you !!!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroCampana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

very good one night stop over, room was very clean and had all the thungs i needed for my stay, bed was a little soft for my liking but my wife always says im a fussy so and so.would use again if needed to be in reading again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

A quaint house turned into a hotel. Lots of potnential here but falls a little short. First the good:
-Ample parking
-free wifi
-very attentive and helpful staff
- overall fantastic service
- decent breakfast, nothing crazy though.

The bad:
-rooms seem worn and it's not intentional
-bed mattress was lumpy, not what you expect if you're paying over $100 a night
-mold on the ceiling of bathroom
-maybe for reading this is decent value, but appears to me to be overpriced for its condition

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 5ive0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beechhousereading, Manager at Beech House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Trip Advisor. We are sorry that on this occasion we were unable to meet your expectations, Had you made us aware of your concerns during your stay, we would have taken steps to resolve the problem immediately. Our priority is our guests comfort, and we take this very seriously, and we will ensure the issues are resolved for all future guests. Once again, we appreciate your valuable feedback, and would welcome an opportunity to provide you with a stay in the future that will exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.2 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
2.4 km away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,761 reviews
1.5 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
2.2 km away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.5 km away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech House Hotel

Property: Beech House Hotel
Address: 60 Bath Road, Reading RG30 2AY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Reading
#3 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#5 Family Hotel in Reading
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,774 - ₹ 9,148
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech House Reading
Beech Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing