We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,060)
Filter reviews
2,060 results
Traveller rating
1,095
703
153
59
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,095
703
153
59
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the underground car park housing estate deluxe room sauna and steam room lovely hotel breakfast was excellent green park leisure facilities buffet style enjoyable stay reading town centre stayed for one night bar area saturday night raja spa film
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 2,060 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed at the Hilton Reading on 22/09/2018. The hotel itself is beautiful and we had no complaints about our room. The members of staff at the reception desk were very friendly and professional and the car parking was great. However, we had gone down to the restaraunt for a meal in the evening and although the food was really good, the service really let it down. We waited for over 20 minutes for our food to come out when it was quiet (in which time, even our drinks weren't brought over to us), we had to chase our food and had to repeat what we'd ordered as they couldn't find our meal on the system, which was actually taken by the manager Mo. Whilst we were waiting for our meal to come out to us, we observed that the customer service was non existent. There were a group of diners at a table behind us who had waited so long for somebody to come and take their order that they started waving their arm in the air to get some attention, at which point all of the staff were all standing together chatting. When the lady finally went over, her facial expression clearly portrayed that she was in a bad mood. Considering that we had to pay a £5 service charge, we thought the restaraunt service was appalling for a 4* hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank natashacheema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANabih, General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ms natashacheema,

Thank you for taking time to post your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor followed by your recent stay with us.

It is always rewarding to receive our guests feedback highlighting areas of our strength and areas we can improve in. I am glad you felt welcomed by the team here and the front office team delivered the kind of services our guests are accustomed to. Thank you for appreciating the room facilities and also for mentioning the complimentary underground car parking facility for our in house guests.

It is disappointing to receive your feedback with regards to the Restaurant service. Please do accept my apologies for the shortfall of service and for the long wait. The F&B outlet's Manager as you mentioned was available on the evening. Your comments have been shared with him to address to avoid recurrence. Please rest assured, we will be taking this up and will ensure the team are retrained as delivery of exceptional services to our guests is paramount to us. Comments positive or for our development are always welcome. Once again, my apologies for the shortfall and hope you will give us another opportunity of welcoming you back again and reviving your faith in our brand.

Kind Regards
Ashraf Nabih
General Manager
Hilton Reading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is one of the better Hiltons we have stayed at in the UK. The rooms are large, clean, well maintained and very airy due to the floor to ceiling windows. The staff we encountered were extremely friendly and accommodating.

As a Hhonors Gold member, my status was recognised at the front desk and we were upgraded from a standard to deluxe room. The complimentary breakfast was of a good quality and comparable to other Hiltons. The email communications from the front desk both before and after our stay was informative and useful.

Slightly disappointed at having got ready for the pool but told that it was out of order when we got down there. We ended up using the well-equipped and clean gym instead. I would suggest providing coins/chips at the gym reception to operate the lockers as I imagine many guests won’t take a wallet to the gym with them for the £1 required for the lockers.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay and will be returning. It’s a credit to the Hilton brand!

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank barry1984UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANabih, General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear barry1984UK,

Thank you for taking time and for your efforts in posting your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor followed by your recent stay with us.

receiving feedback specially positive feedback is motivating and encouraging for the team as we strive to make sure our guests have a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. As our esteemed Hilton Honours member, I am glad you received the complimentary upgrade to a deluxe room. We use the internal messaging system for our in-house guests to make sure we communicate with them and to help serve them with exceptional services.

I do apologise for the pool not available in the morning but glad you were able to enjoy our state of the art gym facilities in our Living well Health club. The team at the club do have £ coins available and would be more than happy to provide one if needed. Your comments have been shared with the Manager to relay back to the team as it helps us refine and better our services. We certainly look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Ashraf Nabih
General Manager
Hilton Reading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for just one night after dropping our daughter off at University. We were given a complimentary upgrade and had a lovely room, it was very clean and spacious. The bed was huge and the bedding and towels were very good quality Breakfast was also good. We will stay here again but will hopefully remember to pack our swim wear next time.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANabih, General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Alison M,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on Trip Advisor followed by your recent stay with us.

Guest feedback is very valuable to us as it helps us understand our guests needs and requirements to deliver exceptional services. I am glad you found the room facilities to your comfort and also the amenities were to your satisfaction. I can see you also enjoyed our traditional Hilton Breakfast.

Hope you will bring your swim wear on your next visit and give our living well Health Club a try. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Ashraf Nabih
General Manager
Hilton Reading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I regular stay in hotels, however I stay at the Hilton hotel Reading weekly on business, by far one of the best hotels in the area and the country , worth visiting you will not be disappointed, modern , clean and great staff with great gym facilities and pool.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANabih, General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Paul G,

Thank you for taking time to post your positive and valuable feedback on Trip Advisor followed by your recent stay with us.

I am delighted to receive your comment stating us to be one of your favourite choices not just in Reading but the entire country. As our regular guest, your satisfaction with our services and facilities is what we strive for. Your comments are motivating and encouraging for my team to remain consistent in providing exceptional services synonymous with our brand.

I am glad your stay with us was comfortable and relaxing. We look forward to the next opportunity of welcoming you back again soon ..

Kind Regards
Ashraf Nabih
General Manager
Hilton Reading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely rooms very clean & comfyQuality cooked breakfast so pre book as Very expensive also expensive bar. Nothing in hotel or nearby is open so expect an early night as bar is closed. Not much to do locally a few industrial estates nearby were fast food is available.However reading town center is beautiful I would stay again

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank lindasealey8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANabih, General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear lindasealey8,

Thank you for taking time and for your effort in posting your valuable feedback on Trip Advisor followed by your recent stay with us.

It is always a pleasure to receive our guests feedback as it helps us in our goal of delivering exceptional services and for making sure our guest's feedback is taken on board to refine and better our services where needed.

I am glad you found the room facilities clean and comfortable and also enjoyed our traditional Hilton Breakfast. Please rest assured, we do benchmark our Bar prices regularly to remain competitive in our local area. I do apologise if they were not to your expectation. It is rewarding to know we were able to ensure your visit to Reading was to your satisfaction and most certainly look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Ashraf Nabih
General Manager
Hilton Reading.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews