We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient for motorway with free secure parking”
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed one night on way to classic car meeting so security of car park was priority. Hotel was modern, reception staff helpful, room well furnished and comfortable (though no great views). The breakfast buffet was good if a little busy (9am on a Sunday morning) but I was pleased to see that service went on until 11am for late risers.

Overall the hotel lived up to the standards I expect from a Hilton and the reception staff were particularly helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul6111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen_Dashper, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found it conveniently located.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,631 - 1,635 of 1,921 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a really comfortable place to stay and the whole hotel is immaculate. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable and were a credit to the place. The bar, restaurant and pool are just what you'd hope for and the free underground parking is a plus too. A cab to Reading cost us £8 so not bad for going out either. The only niggle was the breakfast which looked like a plague of locusts had got there first or perhaps all the other reviewers here (9.30 Sunday morning, service ended 11.00). There was nothing left, our group were there for nearly an hour and it never got better. No eggs, no sausage, no mushrooms, no muffins, no pastries, lots of waiting in hope. If you wanted a quorn thing with grilled tomato you were ok. It was a poor effort but I hope they'd recognise that and I'd definitely go back there.

Room Tip: Any. Better view from the 3rd floor though all much the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonnyT22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am disappointed to read that your breakfast experience was not as you would have liked, or expected. I have raised this matter with our food and beverage manager and executive head chef to address and take action where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed the rest of your experience with us.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Good position.
Nice rooms.
Food extremely expensive, breakfast £18.00.
WiFi chargeable at £15.00 per 24 hours.
If you have a large car then car park entry and exit tight.
Very clean.
Good service.
Nothing close by except Reading Football Stadium and business park with PC World, Comet, B&Q etc, McDonalds, Pitza Hut and Kentucky Fried Chicken.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: A/C was noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick_Goold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

This is a better-than-average Hilton with reasonably sized rooms with floor to ceiling windows, friendly and efficient service, and a good breakfast. The only downside is the location. There is very little within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EfficientTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Hilton Reading is conveniently located on the Kennet Island development, off the A33, 5 minutes by taxi to the centre of Reading and minutes from both the Madejski Stadium, Green Park Business Park and close to the M4, making it ideally located for all your needs in the Berkshire area.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

My family and I stayed on the Great Getaway deal. Very good value. Two adjoining rooms with good facilities and very clean. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was excellent. I would happily return there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Kevin Byrnes
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.9 km away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
566 reviews
3.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
2.9 km away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,052 reviews
1 km away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
2.7 km away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#7 of 31 in Reading
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range: ₹ 6,473 - ₹ 18,136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing