We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic and so friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Townhouse
Ranked #5 of 14 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic and so friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Our family stayed here last weekend as our son was getting married in Woodstock.Excellent customer service from very friendly owners.Superb breakfasts and very clean comfortable rooms and bathrooms.We will certainly be recommending the Town house to our friends.Thank you for your great hospitality. The Town house is in the centre of Woodstock so very convenient for visiting Blenheim Palace and for pottering around the local shops and pubs.The parking right outside the door is a bonus too.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 811nicolaa811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    40
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
78
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Arrived last week and found the b&b very easily. Was greeted by a very friendly man at the door. Room was very spacious and with plenty of amenities. Coffee, tea and kettle provided and with complimentary biscuits and sweets given too. Bathroom was great, had a power shower and bidet. Towels were replaced each day. Breakfast was lovely with it being cooked in full view, owners cooked the Vegetarian English Breakfast to my perfection. I wanted poached egg and they did this and nothing seemed too much trouble. Even when my friend who I was staying with broke the key one night they replaced this with 'no sweat' and when asked if we were getting a replacement key, they produced a key instantly, which had the 'wow' factor for me. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants nearby this b&b and nothing seems to far away. Plenty of shops too with Coop just up the road. Near Blenheim Palace too, which like they say on their website. Wifi was a doddle to sign onto and it was free, the key for using wifi was in the information folder provided. I thoroughly recommend this hotel for friendliness and comfort. The beds were soft and the pillows likewise. There are a selection of books that can borrowed. Parking though seems to be limited on the outside but public transport connection are excellent. The area was very quiet.

Room Tip: Only got three rooms with only one twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heriberto40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We found this B&B by searching the internet. It is owned and run by two recent graduates from Oxford University. One is from Singapore and the other from China. They really know how to make you feel welcomed and their breakfast is superb. The location is walking distance from Benheim Palace which takes two days to see it all. Be sure to have your ticket stamped so that you may enter multiple days without charge. It is the birth place of Winston Churchill. The town is known for its antique shops and if you stop in any shop the reception will make you feel like you are an old friend. Enjoy!

Room Tip: If traveling with children be sure to let the owners know. They will accomodate as we noticed when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichHam42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2011

Great little B&B. Excellent customer service from the Chinese owner. Rooms are basic and decor needs a little attention. The bathroom was more than adequate! The breakfast is taken in the small extension to the 18th property in which the kitchen is also located. It was a bit like eating your breakfast at home except that you didn't need to cook it. No complaints.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor. We think they are bigger than rooms on floors above this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milesb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

Would definately stay again. Very central and near to Blenim Palace.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allinson43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.1 km away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 km away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.1 km away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#4 of 14 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 km away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#1 of 14 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 15 High Street, Woodstock OX20 1TE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,800 - ₹ 7,604
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse B and B is a listed historical building in the centre of Woodstock, Oxfordshire, situated behind the Town Hall. Blenheim Palace is just a short stroll down the road.We offer bed and breakfast guest accommodation in well appointed bedrooms, which all have en-suite facilities and power showers, free-view TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free Fi-Wi also available in the rooms. We have three bedrooms, one super king size twin room (different room types can be arraged upon requests.) and one small double room. Parking is free and available directly outside. (No private parking available but there are 3 public car parks around Woodstock!). Our location is ideally for visiting Bicester Village, The Cotswolds, Oxford, Stratford-Upon-Avon, Burford, Stow-on-the-Wold, and our accommodation is ideal for short breaks, wedding guests, business travellers and overseas visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing