We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmm!”
Review of The Trout Inn

The Trout Inn
Ranked #319 of 740 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 51
Cuisines: British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Trout Inn is an endearing 17th century pub that provides a stylish yet comfortable setting in which to escape the demands that come hand in hand with everyday life. Situated on the idyllic banks of the River Thames, The Trout Inn offers a moment of tranquillity during a busy day, especially if the sun is shining. With a lovely side terrace that looks onto the river, our garden space also has patio heaters that are ideal for keeping you warm, cosy and content on cold days or chilly summer evenings by the river. Extensive seating and a charming bridge joining the terrace to a private garden also add to the pub’s aesthetic outdoor appeal. And make sure you keep your eyes peeled for Krug the peacock roaming the grounds! Our delicious menus of seasonal dishes feature a wide range of light bites, classic dishes, sharing platters and children’s meals that have been designed to meet all of your requirements.
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Have been several times over the years whilst visiting family. Fabulous setting. ..very full river today and relaxed comfortable ambience..but the food...unexciting limited menu & tasteless fare. Average prices and pleasant staff.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Jude084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Jude,
Thank you for leaving us a review, we are so lucky with out superb setting! I am suprised however that you found our menu limited. We have a huge menu which includes sharers, 22 different main options and a large selection of sides. We also have our Vegan Menu and Daily Specials. Hopefully see you again.
Elizabeth Atkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

335 - 339 of 3,098 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018

Attended a 60th Birthday family meal on a Saturday evening during Easter.

We were quite a big group and so the service had their work cut out.

It was a lovely evening, the food was good and the service excellent. We were very well looked after.

Shame that it was just too cold to enjoy the gardens before we sat down but then again it was still March.

Hope to go back again one day when I am in the area.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BeerWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review! We are so pleased that you had a good time with us and hopefully the weather will be a little warmer when we next see you!
Elizabeth Atkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

Very disappointing meal this evening - in fact the food was mediocre - I had a chicken and leek pie and the pastry on top was really hard and inedible and my husband’s ribeye steak was not very good - was it the steak or was it the cook! Will not be returning in the near future! Their Sunday roasts are so good - what a letdown.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank kayslade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Dear Kay,
I am so disappointed to hear that you didn't enjoy your meal with us. The pie is in fact one of my favourite dishes when cooked correctly. Your review has of course been passed on to the kitchen as well as the management team. We hope our Sunday Roasts will tempt you back!
Many Thanks and Apologies
Elizabeth Atkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Was very nice for Sunday lunch. Can imagine that this place is heaving in the summer. Food was nice tho. Happily got me extra potatoes and Yorkshire puds (at a reasonable price too) and the stuffing was very nice. Good wine list too and completely reasonable too. Not overly expensive.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Alex D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Dear Alex,
I am thrilled to hear that you found our Sunday Roast to be spot on and I certainly hope that you will be visiting us again soon.

Many Thanks
Elizabeth Atkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We each ordered soup, which was described as
‘Soup of the day served with artisan rustic bread & butter’
Whilst two turned up artisan & rustic, I would strongly dispute the use of the word ‘bread’..........a small crouton would be a fairer & more accurate description.
My husbands arrived & could, at best, be described as a tiny fragment of French stick!
Definitely would not recommend

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank pleasant0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Trout Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we serve out bread in a rustic fashion which I would probably describe it as a 'hunk of bread'. If of course you are unhappy with the potion we are always more then happy to fetch you some more.
Many Thanks
Elizabeth Atkinson
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Trout Inn also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing