We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday dinner ”
Review of Mamma Mia Pizzeria

Mamma Mia Pizzeria
Reserve with OpenTable
Mamma Mia Pizzeria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 640 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 16 - US$ 33
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Fresh Hand Made Pizza Since 1981....Great Pasta a& Antipasto too!
Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

When we arrived staff friendly and accommodating. Full of locals. Had the veggi pasta and hubby had a meat pasta with house garlic bread. Very garlic bread brilliantly complemented the meal. Dessert was tailored for me with dairy removed.lovely atmosphere to relax after a busy day sightseeing.

Thank Andyanneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Manager at Mamma Mia Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2017

Great to hear that you enjoyed your Birthday dinner in Mamma Mia.
Many thanks for complimenting our staff and our food.
We hope to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (471)
There are newer reviews for Mamma Mia Pizzeria
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 471 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2017

We had been recommended this restaurant as we needed somewhere to eat. Store going to Cutteslowe Park. I chose a risotto which arrived far from hot but tasted fine. They did not serve children's sized pizza so we were forced to order two adult sized pizzas for our four year old grandson and my husband. Our grandson did sterling work on his but was unable to eat it all whilst my husband got through his by carving off a lot of unnecessary pizza base around the edges.
There were two people at a table behind ours, a lad and a young women and neither of them were able to finish their pizzas. What a shocking waste of food.
Next time we will eat in the cafe in Cutteslowe Park which was brilliant by the way.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MaggieWeston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

The food was freshly cooked, well presented, tasty, very good value for money and served with a smile - the service was excellent. The atmosphere was friendly and 'buzzing'. We enjoyed a lovely early evening meal at this very popular restaurant in Summertown during our stay at the 'Remont' - short walking distance away. We had called on the off-chance and although very busy they found us a table and didn't rush us (probably advisable to book).

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Manager at Mamma Mia Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dear guest, delighted to hear such a lovely comment about your last visit in Mamma Mia. I hope to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017

This was the second visit to Mamma Mia's in Summertown. The first was a family night out - this was with colleagues, eating early after work. Neither visit was a disappointment. The food was well presented and while it was immediate, the time it took was perfect to give us time to chat and catch up - let's face it, the food is freshly prepared. Expect to wait at the busiest times - so enjoy a drink!

It's a small restaurant and so table spacing is 'cosy', but I like this, so it doesn't bother me. It means that as it gets busy, the volume does get louder.

Menu choices are great - I'm not a fussy eater, so I can only assume it covers a range of tastes. There is a great selection of pizza and pasta dishes and the wine menu is extensive. I think the costs are typical for this kind of restaurant. The menu is online, so it ought not be a surprise. But expect to pay £8-10 for a pizza and there are 2 prices for the pasta dishes, with the larger portions coming out around £8-11 and the smaller portions around £6-7.

The only downside, as with a lot of Oxford is the parking. South Parade is a side street off the popular Summertown area - a lovely suburb of the city. There is paid parking off the Banbury Road and some side streets offer free limited parking, but beware because some streets have resident parking schemes and the fines can be hefty!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emjay3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Manager at Mamma Mia Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Dearguest, thank you so much for your lovely review! Happy to hear that you have had such a fabulous experience on your visit in Mamma Mia. Thank you for appreciating our service , food and athmosphere and again for taking time to share your experience on line.
And remember...on your next visit you can park your car on the inside courtyard available for Mamma Mia and Portabello Restaurant guest. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017 via mobile

Great lunch time menu. Good value main course and drink. Pasta or pizza. Service was quick. Nice patio.

Thank Feetinvestigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian F, Manager at Mamma Mia Pizzeria, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2017

Thanks for taking time to write your review!
Happy to hear that you enjoyed your lunch with us! Thanks for mentioning our super lunch time menu! See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mamma Mia Pizzeria also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Mamma Mia Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing