We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Wide range of books

I found a wide range of books here and helpful staff. I was able to find the books I wanted and... read more

Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Betterxtogether
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
via mobile
A great modernized library

Central Library (now known as County Library) has finally had a well needed refresh and... read more

Reviewed 16 March 2018
Kate L
,
Oxford, United Kingdom
Read all 14 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Oxford
from US$ 62.20
More Info
from US$ 19.43
More Info
from US$ 32.40
More Info
from US$ 103.70
More Info
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
14 results
Traveller rating
5
6
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
5
6
1
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 14 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2018

The library itself is spacious, comfortable and conveniently located at the main entrance to the new Westgate shopping centre. The service is excellent - the shelves are well stocked with current and evergreen literature, and with things like comic books, DVDs, etc., and I have been able to obtain some really obscure books easily by pre-ordering them on line. Excellent.

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Fredibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018 via mobile

Oxford central library remains unfortunately unscathed by the recent redevelopment still unbelievably no access for wheelchairs, was the refurbishment kept secret from them? Oxfordshire’s flagship public library surely deserves a 21st Century facelift or maybe just a new lift

Date of experience: January 2018
3  Thank timbW941JO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

I remember the old library.It was just the same.Same lifts,same department layout,its just been given a make over but is practically the same.
It appears to have been missed off entirely of the large pillar maps at the entrance to Westgate as despite 10 minutes perusal I could not locate it on there.
One addition I did notice was a very expensive looking Yamaha "Digital Piano"with headphones for public use.
Plus there are more computer terminals BUT these ,unless one is a member are restricted to 15 minutes use at a time on a rotational unbooked basis.
Strange because terminals in the satellite libraries are now 30 minutes and were
until recently 1 hour.
Seems they are trying to force more people to join in order to use to beef up the numbers and make the staff look needed as a library an book 2 hours uninterrupted.
Many of these terminals are extremely uncomfortable to use.No where to place coats bags belongings except on floor,neck craning and sticking ones rear end out required
to get within reading distance of the screen etc.
The mouse cable was so taut and short I could not pull it to a comfortable position.
The staff seem friendly enough in a dim sort of way.The white walls are covered in slogans like the Peoples Republic of Korea exhorting study and reading and the joys of
intellectualism.
I could add one of my own by Mark Twain "A big thick encyclopedia is a very useful thing.For propping up a wonky table leg eeping a window propped open....."
The atmosphere in the place is reasonable enough .
My overall impression was this place is absolutely stuck in its opening era 1970s and is petrified of anything approaching real change.
Compared to the gigantic New York size architectural wonder of the Eminem library in Utrecht-a similar small town-this one in Oxford looks positively has been and cheapskate.
I did not see any dirt or junks loitering in there but there were large groups of tourists and students being given guided tours.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank lazenlondonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017 via mobile

Canteen staff were just rude and I would not go there for a coffee again.
They had no angers and a permanent attitude problem

Date of experience: May 2017
1  Thank Michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

The town of Oxford is a must see stop while in the UK. A lot of history. We travelled there with Evan Evans Tours. Highly recommended

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank micdado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews