We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
If in the area it is a must see!

Why and how I am going to have to find out! Surreal and impressive. Aparrently one can rent the... read more

Reviewed 23 August 2018
wisewonderer1223
,
Bristol, United Kingdom
The Story is Funny, the Shark is Iconic

Really, what you see is what you get, but the thrilling tale of council defiance is worth the trip... read more

Reviewed 19 June 2018
jmkeith01
,
London, United Kingdom
Read all 189 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Oxford
from US$ 15.20
More Info
from US$ 63.40
More Info
from US$ 19.79
More Info
from US$ 33.00
More Info
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
171 results
Traveller rating
69
55
32
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
55
32
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews local radio short detour worth a quick visit oxford city high street visiting oxford roof council teddington sharks diving eccentricity controversy geocaching landmark installation fought
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 171 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The giant plastic shark diving into someone’s house is a must see if you’re in the area. It’s been there years and has fought off calls to remove it. You can drive into the street it’s on, snap a quick pic and be on your way

Thank M5PYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Don’t know how long this plastic shark has been sticking out of the roof but you can get a great view of it from Headington High Street

1  Thank Ian-Jacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Why and how I am going to have to find out! Surreal and impressive. Aparrently one can rent the house, children would love it. There were quite a few taking photo's when we stopped to see it as staying just around the corner.
So want there to be the sharks head crashing through the bedroom ceiling below!

1  Thank wisewonderer1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

Just being refreshed with scaffolding around it. Bit of a tart up going on. I live in the area so pass it quite often on my way to the shops. Great fun and glad its being preserved.

1  Thank Glynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Don't go out of your way way to go see it, it's literally just a shark in a roof.

Look at the photos.

1  Thank squidbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

I had heard about this some years ago, and forgot all about it. Geocaching brought us here, and it came back to my memory. Sadly with scaffolding around it at the mo, but we could still see it!

1  Thank 4SarahLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018

You probably have to know where to look otherwise you would be rubbing eyes in disbelief. Not a student prank!

Thank JRMaddog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2018

I loved the Headington shark from the time it first appeared on the roof of a house in this Oxford neighbourhood many years ago. It caused a sensation at the time as did the lower half of a woman in a can can skirt that sat on the roof of the cinema opposite. The owner of the cinema as far as I remember was responsible for both. Like many people when it first appeared, I thought they were both very funny but over time people became divided on the two art works. The woman's legs and lower half disappeared a long time ago with the closing of the cinema. However, the shark has remained despite many protests to get rid of it. I personally like the shark as it is something totally different and it brings tourists to the area to see the art work.

2  Thank aecmorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018 via mobile

This shark has to be seen to be believed! Really impressive structure and amazing that it is actually someone’s home. Really great to have such a unique feature as this in headington.

Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Really, what you see is what you get, but the thrilling tale of council defiance is worth the trip up the hill!

1  Thank jmkeith01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews