We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for visiting the University”
Review of Red Mullions

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Mullions
Ranked #2 of 80 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wolfville, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for visiting the University”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I stayed at Red Mullions in late March of 2012, during a two-week, four-city tour of UK universities. The bathroom was very clean, with modern (and stylish) fixtures. The bed was large and comfortable, and I slept well. The room was spacious, welcoming, and quiet. The breakfast was fantastic. The proprietors were very helpful, and everyone was very kind.

Getting to Red Mullions was easy. I took a coach service from Heathrow to Oxford, which departed Heathrow mere minutes after I had got on the bus (they run every half-hour), and arrived in Oxford about an hour later. The coach stops near Red Mullions, in the 'Headington Shops' area. Getting to Red Mullions from the stop was less than five minutes by foot.

Getting from Red Mullions into downtown Oxford was also easy. There is a bus stop right across the road from Red Mullions. It took no more than five minutes to get into downtown Oxford by bus. With frequent service, I did not wait for more than five minutes for a bus to arrive.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Hi William B,

Thank you for the most favourable review. We are so happy that we were able to make your trip memorable and that you enjoyed our breakfasts so much. Again we thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

627 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    129
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
217
174
63
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed at this property for an Easter break, we were greeted as soon as we arrived in the car park and our bags were taken for us. All the staff were friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was excellent. The shower was hot and the bed comfortable.
The location is good with good transport facilities and a bus stop right outside, or a 25 minute walk into Oxford city centre.
Although I do not like to be negative I felt the bathroom and toilet could have been cleaned more thoroughly as there was fluff and hairs on the wooden floors from previous occupants which is disappointing.
Overall, would still recommend to others and would return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandy0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, 12 April 2012
Hi Mandy0814

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us feedback.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for not maintaining our high standard in housekeeping that we strive for.We look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Friendly welcome, clean and comfortable room, great breakfast and a good night's sleep. Also very child-friendly and handy for buses into city centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 10Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redmullions, Manager at Red Mullions, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Hi Andy283,

Thank you for the most favourable review. We are so happy that we were able to make your stay memorable and that you enjoyed our breakfast so muchtoo. Again, we thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Regards

Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

I came across Red Mullions after staying at another b&b several doors away. The cost of both places was almost the same but the standard of the rooms and attentiveness of the staff at Red Mullions by far outwayed the previous one. I stayed on and off for these past two weeks whilst my sister was in the John Radcliffe Hospital and on each visit I was greeted with a smile and treated as individual, thank you so much Pami and Luke.
I have no hesitation in recommending Red Mullions if you want a friendly caring stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doolot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed here one night with my son before a university interview - very convenient for Brookes, and Oxford bus routes (no car needed, but parking possible in forecourt).
Knowledgeable, friendly staff. Room was very clean. well furnished, modern decor, comfortable beds and pillows, breakfast excellent. Ground floor rooms available if you have trouble with stairs but you then do get a little noise from the breakfast room. Take an eyeshade if you are very sensitive to early morning light as the curtains are not a blackout. Large well laid out bathroom, but you do need to be able to step over a bath side to access shower. A little to the higher part of the price bracket for B&B but you DO get what you pay for. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WNHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
2.6 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,164 reviews
3.3 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
3.0 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 44 in Oxford
1,739 reviews
3.0 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3.0 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Mullions? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Mullions

Property: Red Mullions
Address: 23 London Road | Headington, Oxford OX3 7RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,536 - ₹ 14,734
Hotel Class:4 star — Red Mullions 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Red Mullions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing