We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”
Review of Rewley House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rewley House
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very convenient”
Reviewed 15 July 2011

This is university-owned accommodation rather than a traditional hotel. We had the self-contained flat which was very comfortable and relatively spacious. Breakfasts were excellent also. There is a laundry that can be used by guests. Wifi is limited unless you have an eduroam account.

As with almost everywhere in Oxford, there is no parking.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robjhyndman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    48
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
28
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

I was attending a medical course at the Oxford Playhouse and stayed for 3 nights.My room was in a building across and along the road from reception. You need to unlock 3 doors to get into the room, but it's done for safety and it's not really a problem. There is a lift but also some steps to go up.
It was about a 10 minute walk to the start of the town centre and lots of things you'll want to see in Oxford. The pavements you'll walk along into town are rather uneven, but that's part of Oxford.
Reception and the dining room open at 8 in the morning. The breakfast is delicious - cooked English breakfast with cereal and fruit laid out. You may end up sharing an 8-seater table with other residents. I didn't mind - interesting conversation if you want it. I didn't have the other meals there.
My room was spacious as was the bathroom. You won't find any toiletries except soap - this is accommodation for the further education college after all. But there was a hairdryer, also stacks of storage space in the room, plus a desk and TV. The room was cleaned beautifully every day.
Will definitely stay there again - good accommodation, inexpensive for Oxford, lovely breakfast, convenient.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KathyYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

We are frequent travelers to the UK and Europe and are realistic in our accomodation expectations. We also understand fully the concept of "You get what you pay for". In this case, however, I still feel we overpaid for the room we were given. We chose Rewley House because we wanted to experience the university setting and thought it would be a unique place to stay. What we got was a dark and dreary dorm room that has not been updated in decades. The main light in the room consisted of a bare bulb hanging from a cord in the ceiling that was covered on the top by a lamp shade. The bathroom looked like a typical dorm bathroom from the 40's with dim lights that you turn on by pulling a dirty, greasy, string. There is no A/C which is is often the case in lower priced hotels in Europe, but there was a fan. Our building also had an elevator. The staff in reception was friendly and helpful and Rewley House also has a laundry area and a computer lab where we could check our email. The room was about a 15 min walk from the train station so a cab would be useful if you have heavy or cumbersome luggage. Rewley House is also about a 10-15 min walk to the City Center. There are several good restaurants nearby, including Jamie Oliver's restaurant which was packed every night. Overall, this was a very basic accomodation site that really is just a dorm room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor-not an attic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tewstew30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Rewley House was booked for 9 of us for a stag weekend and it's location, quality and price made it absolutely ideal. We were staying in No.37 which is across the road from No.1 which is where reception is.

It's in a great location, walking distance into the centre of Oxford but at the same time, set away in a quiet cul-de-sac.

We had twin rooms which were spacious and comfortable. Bathroom with shower over bath and again, plenty of room. Kitted out with wardrobes, desk, TV with Freeview, armchair, tea/coffee/hot chocolate making facilities. Comfortable, firm bed.

There are some pay and display parking spaces outside. It worked out Ok for us, we had to pay for an hours parking at the end of the day and then the cars were fine there until the morning (as long as you get a free ticket from the machine to cover you for an hour or 2 after 9:30 on a Sunday if you need it).

I would certainly recommend this place for cheap accommodation in Oxford and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flumeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I have stayed here three times on business in Oxford. It is part of the University of Oxford (Dept. of Continuing Education). The rooms are not like in your typical hotel room. They are like student dormitory rooms. However, the rooms do have a TV, coffee and tea, and a private bathroom. There is also a landline telephone. The place advertises free wireless internet access (you need to obtain a guest account from the front desk), but I found that you can only get a signal if you stay in the central block. I also found that the hot water in the shower was a bit unreliable. Nonetheless, I would recommend this place for a business stay in Oxford. For the most part, I found the rooms very comfortable and the location was extremely convenient to the centre of Oxford (you can easily walk to many of the major tourist attractions) and to Oxford University. Breakfast is extra. Please note that the check out time is 9:00 am!

Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank yrussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.7 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.2 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
680 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
653 reviews
0.9 km away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rewley House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rewley House

Property: Rewley House
Address: Rewley House 1 Wellington Square, Oxford OX1 2JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Oxford
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,606 - ₹ 10,442
Hotel Class:4 star — Rewley House 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rewley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rewley House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing