We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A great family bonding event

College cruisers are a joy to deal with and the whole experience was made easy. The trip gave my... read more

Reviewed 10 October 2018
Mike M
,
Bognanco, Italy
An Amazing Experience!

My husband and I spent an enchanting week on the boat, the Somerville, cruising north on the... read more

Reviewed 3 October 2018
rslomo483548
,
Los Angeles, California
Read all 76 reviews
  
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
58
13
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
58
13
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canal boat oxford canal pretty canal thorough briefing boat owners information needed lovely boat comfortable boat explained everything highly recommend this company english countryside nuffield exeter instructions pubs narrowboat lock
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

College cruisers are a joy to deal with and the whole experience was made easy. The trip gave my wife and I, daughter and partner the time to see each other and work as a team. The week flashed by and with great weather, a good boat and friendly stopping points. My wife had a broken ankle and we were promised by Carys that this wouldn't be a problem, in getting on and off or moving around on the boat and it wasn't.
Despite the dry summer, there was no real problems with water levels in the canal, although it did make picking the bountiful blackberries, sloes and wild hops a bit difficult. The wildlife was fantastic. thank you
Thank you College Cruisers and Somerville for an unforgettable week.

Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

My husband and I spent an enchanting week on the boat, the Somerville, cruising north on the Oxford Canal. This was our first time, and we weren't sure what to expect, however we were given amazing instructions on maneuvering the boat and locks. The Somerville was comfortable, clean and had everything you could possibly need. Carys and Charly as well as the rest of the crew were amazing! So helpful, and supportive, we could not have asked for more. The trip was so peaceful, beautiful and the towns we stopped , charming, and so much fun, especially our pub stops. We were able to stop and shop for provisions, and explore the areas. Everyone on the canal was friendly, kind, helpful, it was pure joy! If you're looking for an experience of a lifetime, we highly recommend College Cruisers, you will not be disappointed! We cannot wait to go again, and try a different route!

Thank rslomo483548
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Embarked on a weeks cruise with College Cruisers on the “Pembroke” travelling North towards Banbury on the Oxford Canal, ending last week.
The orientation session was thorough and left no item unmentioned This process included a physical demonstration on how to manoeuvre the 58’ boat into a lock and turn it around to face the other way, a very necessary and reassuring process. However we only needed to carry out this process once at the half way stage of our trip
We set off late as new alternators we’re being fitted, pleased that the vessel was going to be in good condition.
There were 4 of us on board and the boat was adequate (just) even though it theoretically could cater for six. Six would be a squeeze unless everyone knew each other very well , or wanted to get to know everybody else very well.
Beautiful countryside, great pubs with lovely food ( the Great Western Arms was especially good with wonderful service at reasonable prices)
The chart that we had from College Cruisers gave optimistic travel times for the anticipated journey times for location to location. However we were not in a hurry.
It was important to top up with water each day, and we should have taken a little more food with us as the available shops en route was limited.
Some of the locks needed a good push to start the process as did a couple of the swing bridges.
The personal service from the staff at College Cruisers was excellent and all communications answered promptly.
The boat performed brilliantly and all in all a great trip.

Ken Jones

1  Thank Ken J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018

Our family of four plus dog had a lovely holiday on the Magdalen last week. The boat was comfortable, clean and well equipped. Fantastic scenery, very relaxing and the locks keep you fit! We will definitely be booking another trip.

Thank annejb2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Had a great short break on the Balliol. Boat well equipped, very easy to cook good food for four adults onboard, made beer can chicken and halloumi fries. The showers were great too - boat layout well designed. Our trip along the Oxford canal was very scenic, beautiful countryside and wildlife, we saw Kingfishers along the canal. Everyone along the route was very friendly and helpful. We did so much yet did so little, it was really good fun for everyone. We had really good weather all week - t-shirts and shorts weather - it was brilliant.

Thank Hug301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

Myself and three friends booked a fantastic holiday with College Cruisers last weekend on their Nuffield boat at a great price. We had lots of fun and I would recommend it to anyone. We managed to get just past The Bell Inn in Heyford before we turned back. Excellent pubs, excellent views, excellent boat.

Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Everything about his trip was amazing. Exeter is such a lovely boat. We were 3 couples and it suited us perfectly. There was all the equipment on board we needed. We were a little nervous about some of the reviews saying the canal was low on water and overgrown but it was only shallow between two locks and by going slow and sticking to the middle as we were advised it was no issue. And who can complain if the fillings has grown? It wasn't a problem at all. So great boat, great support and an amazing weekend. The weather helped but even if it had rained we would have had a great time. Big thanks to college cruisers who made it for us.

Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

We were five aboard a superbly designed boat, three double bedrooms, two bathrooms with showers. The boat was well equipped and the one reliability problem was dealt with speedily. Carys and her team are friendly and professional and the Oxford is a delightful canal.

Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

Six friends rented "Balliol" to sail up the Thames from Oxford over a long weekend. The boat was excellent, very well equipped and comfortable. It has been newly refurbished. College Cruisers were very helpful, friendly and gave lots of good advice. Someone came with us for the first half an hour or so, so we felt confident about operating the boat. Heading up the windy twists and turns of a great river like the Thames was a joy. I'd highly recommend College Cruisers.

Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

From the first email to saying goodbye at the end of the trip College Cruisers were excellent.
The boat was in great condition, very clean, cozy and well equipped . Mike showed us over Keble, he took time to be sure we had all the information needed before safety settling off.
The Oxford Canal is very varied and beautiful. We had a lovely long weekend thank you all.

Thank kexcus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews