We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub food and excellent service ”
Review of The Britannia Inn

The Britannia Inn
Ranked #304 of 712 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: British, Grill, Brew Pub
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

We have dinned there three times, at least. They have an interesting pub menu with several unusual plates. I do recommend the wild boar burger. My daughter always take one of the veggie burgers and she thinks they are pretty good.

Among the desserts, I'd recommend the Apple pie.

The service is great the waitress and the guys behind the bar are really great.

Thank Jose Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we did. We hope you have a great day!
Kind regards
Britannia Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018

Being a Sunday would have liked to have had the Sunday menu but unfortunately it was not available. The meal we had could have been better as the fish was overcooked and the beans were under cooked.

Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Hi Kevin, I'm sorry to hear that the food you ordered wasn't served to our usual high standard. As for the Sunday roast it is very popular so does sometimes run out. We'd love a chance to do better for you, please don't hesitate to get in touch with us at britanniainnheadington@emberinns.co.uk or to call us on 01865 760192.
Regards,
Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Don't know where to start ....
We were cut in our conversation by staff telling us "Got no vegetarian" before we ordered. Changed our order, no tea/coffee - no apology. It was included in price of breakfast but no offer of alternative, no apology just a sarcastic comment that she would also have liked a coffee....
Scrambled egg was like rubber, the toast which there was only one slice was VERY burnt, food was cold.
Staff were blunt and rude, place had atmosphere of a morgue and generally rude. ( I know they couldn't help coffee machine being broken but were not even offered an alternative).
Save your money and tastebuds - go elsewhere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LouiseCalvert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Hi Louise, on behalf of all the staff at the Britannia let me apologise for your experience. I can assure you this is not our usual standard. If you could get in touch with us by calling 01865 760192 or by emailing britanniainnheadington@emberinns.co.uk I'd love to have the chance to have you back for us to do better.
Thanks,
Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Pie had only 2 pieces of meat in it . Vegetable shrivelled ,gravy had skin on top . Poor service , sauce on chicken Piti Piti my daughter had was thick and dried on .cutlery holder dirty .

Thank Paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi Paul, thank you for taking the time to review us. It looks like we didn't do our best for you on your visit and we're sorry about that. We'd love to see you again to show you this isn't our usual standard
Regards,
Jake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

Nice helpful staff. Decent beer. Clean place, parking outside with refundable charge if eating here. 4 beef sunday dinners, 4 sweets, 4 drinks some £51. Not huge dinners but tasty nonetheless.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Huw J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at The Britannia Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Hi Huw,

Many thanks for taking time to review us.

We’re glad you enjoyed your roast dinners and that you liked the beer.

We’re also glad to see you enjoyed the service.

We do prepare our meals to a set specification, and I apologise that you felt this was not good value for money. This is something I can feed back to our food development team.

We hope to see you again soon, why not give our trio of roasts a try next time, it never fails to disappoint!

Regards,

Jason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Britannia Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing