We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveller rating
120
77
12
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
120
77
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sunday carvery bar meals lovely afternoon tea blenheim palace designer outlet one nighter be returning to this hotel from arrival to departure cheese and biscuits cinnamon sticks oxfordshire countryside clean and comfortable rooms lovely hotel overnight stay small balcony one night stay christmas lunch
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 218 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Looking for somewhere central for a group of old friends to meet for a weekend, The Holt fitted perfectly! We were all arriving at different times over the weekend and had some very specific dietary requirements, nothing was too much trouble for the hotel. The highlight was the dinner that we had organised on Saturday evening for 19 people, to start we were a little hesitant as the food was quite late arriving, however any misgivings were completely unfounded! The food was delicious and beautifully presented and the staff were so helpful.
Finally, the rooms were perfect for our weekend, clean and comfortable - we weren't in them very much!

Room tip: Rooms at the back are quieter
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Judith08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Perfect for a quick getaway from the stress of every day life. Quaint, homely, cosy and romantic. Dinner at the restaurant was well presented, cooked with love and the tiramisu is one of the best I've ever had. Afternoon tea the next day was divine with freshly baked scones and pure clotted cream. Friendly staff with smiles and perfectly clean and comfortable rooms.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rekha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Good clean rooms, very friendly and helpful staff and an excellent menu for breakfast and dinner. Loved the Barbeque!!!
A bit of noise from the nearby road but didn't disturb us too much.
Would certainly recommend.

Room tip: Refurbished rooms at the back
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Room was ready when we arrived, but a few problems with wheelchair and disabled access. The room was described as 'disabled friendly' but there was no; heightened toilet nor rails to assist standing from up from toilet both these were rectified by the management.

Major problem with the step-in shower as not one rail was fitted to allow my disabled wife to hold for support; hence no shower.

The 'disabled friendly' room had a chair which was very low and unusable for my disabled wife (arthritis of the knees) who would never got out of that chair.

So 'disabled friendly' it is not.

We were part of a wedding party and with restricted access to the grass (steps) and a gravel path a wheelchair cannot negotiate we were not able to be included in most of the wedding photographs until guests manually lifted my wife in the wheelchair to the lawn and back again (how embarrassing to all concerned).

Double check before you book if there are any disabled persons in your party and that they have 'expected access and use of facilities'.

On the plus side the food was exceptional and dietary needs were fully catered for.

Room tip: very limited disabled (no fully disabled rooms)
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Aldfrith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

During our recent stay at the Holt Hotel we were impressed by the commitment of the staff to ensure we were satisfied with our stay. This included changing rooms to a more suitable one. The cleanliness and quality of the re-furbished rooms was excellent.

Room tip: Ask for a refurbished room - they are working through to refurbish all rooms apparently
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, General Manager at The Holt Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Tony,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It gives us great satisfaction to know that you enjoyed your stay.
We do try to go the extra mile to please our valued customers. We look forward to serving you again
in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews