We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok Hostel”
Review of YHA Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
YHA Oxford
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Ok Hostel”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

This hostel was ok only. It was cheap-ish. Rooms were small and weren't entirely clean. The staff were not very helpful and at one stage we were given totally wrong directions. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 000CST000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    119
    73
    23
    20
See reviews for
48
38
69
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

both days, there were dirty dishes and food leftovers in the self-catering kitchen...some people just didn't bother cleaning after themselves

Room Tip: opposite reception, first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Overall very happy. We stayed in a 6 bed bunk dorm, we had our own bathroom just for our room (so to share with the 6 beds) and it was clean and handy. We had lockers in the room and there was enough space not to be on top of everyone. There is a bar downstairs and the middle of town is about 10 mins walk so not to bad at all.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clareyerian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed just one night on a group trip to Oxford. The YHA was a short walk from the main part of the town so it was quiet while still being convenient. We had a private room with ensuite which was clean and fairly modern. Excellent value for money if you just want a place to rest your head. The staff were great and it was no problem to store our bags with them for the day after we had checked out.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewey015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Overall a good stay. The room was cheap, and the room was clean. The bathroom was also clean, but a little bit dated. The only problem was the size of the shower - it was very small and the shower sprayed water directly at the door when turned on (despite the shower curtain). Most of the staff were friendly, expect for one guy who was working the night shift. I understand night shift can be depressing, but there is no need to be rude to customers.

The lounge is comfortable, and the self-catering kitchen is one of the best I have ever seen. The restaurant does a very nice breakfast, and the staff serving the food were very helpful and pleasant.

Overall a good stay, and I would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldor_the_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.8 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.3 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.8 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
1.1 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Oxford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Oxford

Property: YHA Oxford
Address: 2A Botley Road, Oxford OX2 0AB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Oxford
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,655 - ₹ 11,417
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your YHA Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Oxford Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing