We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Colleague was very impressed!”
Review of The Westwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westwood Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Northampton
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Colleague was very impressed!”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I booked this room on behalf of a colleague of mine, and he said the hotel was fantastic! My colleague is sometimes difficult to please with hotels, and he stays away a lot, so I thought I should write this review on his behalf, because if he was impressed then it is definitely worth talking about!
The hotel was very clean and the staff were friendly and helpful.
The atmosphere and surroundings were beautiful and the room was pefect.
Definitely recommended for leisure or business!

Room Tip: We booked on lastminute.com and the room we were given was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RONDON0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    90
    62
    22
    26
See reviews for
77
132
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2011

We chose The Westwood Hotel for our wedding (both for the ceremony and reception) in November of this year and we couldn't have asked for more.

The staff, the facilities, the food, the organisation were all flawless. The day ran like clock-work and we had utter confidence in the Operations Manager (thank you Merylin) who was in complete control.

We and a number of our guests stayed at the venue the night of the wedding and the rooms were clean, spacious and modern. And come the morning we enjoyed a yummy and plentiful breakfast.

Every time we visited the hotel prior to the wedding we were impressed by how spotless the place was and with a very calm atmosphere. We always received a warm welcome from the staff on reception.

I have no hesitation in recommending The Westwood as a wedding venue or as somewhere to stay when visiting Oxford – I have pleasure in giving a very confident 5 star rating.

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear of the property have views over the mature, wooded gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RuthH1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2011

Having stayed at this hotel a couple of years back I was reluctant to return after such a bad experience. However, based on some of the comments on Trip Advisor and the classy Hotel website we decided to give it another shot. What a turnaround!

The hotel has obviously had some serious work done, not just in terms of fixtures and fittings but the place has a much more fresh and welcoming feel, complimented by the friendly, knowledgable staff.

The food and drinks offering has been worked on also. Its certainly not michelin star, but there is a time and a place for that rubbish anyway. This is knowledgably cooked food that is done with care and attention, and a focus on good quality produce. The wine list is good and accessible for any customer, although I would have liked to have seen more wines by the glass so I could match up with my meal. When I mentioned this to our server, he said he would be happy to open any wine bottle for us to try. Now thats going the extra mile.

Overall a most enjoyable experience and a great base for us to visit family in the surrounding areas. Oxford is beautiful.

Well done to the team who turned this around. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AlliH821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

A nice enough hotel just off the A34 which we stayed at for a Christmas get together. We originally checked into Room 2 (which was very nice and had a great view of the garden) but decided to move to Room 6 because it had a bigger bed. Room 6 was a big room in the eaves of the property and overlooked the car park. It has a bath with an overhead shower with limited pressure which we found very hard to get to the correct temperature. Unfortunately our radiator was stuck on full blast despite the best efforts of the staff to try and sort it out.

The venue was very clean and looked well maintained (contrary to some of the other reviews).

Staff were very friendly, gardens were very nice and I'm sure it would be great venue for a small wedding or corporate event.

I have posted a few pictures of Room 6 and one of the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms are very nice if you don't might a standard 4'6" bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank textlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We had our Christmas work do at the Westwood. It was absolutely fabulous. The staff were wonderful and the setting was magical. Nothing was too much trouble, and we were treated like VIPs. The food was excellent, and the table was laid out beautifully. Well done Westwood Hotel we shall definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidaysrusLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
7.1 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
2.7 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
3.9 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
1,014 reviews
7.5 km away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
392 reviews
8.4 km away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westwood Hotel

Property: The Westwood Hotel
Address: Hinksey Hill, Oxford OX1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,353 - ₹ 12,158
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Westwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westwood Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing