We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (12)
Filter reviews
12 results
Traveller rating
9
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
9
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 12 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here a week in August 2013, having come down to visit friends. Mr Price was very friendly and welcoming, and offered great value for money for the single room I had booked. Having stayed in Oxford before, i found other b and b's to be very overpriced. Breakfast was brilliant, and i particularly enjoyed some of the conversations with Mr Price! The room was very clean, and offered great tea making facilities (particularly as I am a tea-a-holic!), and a double bed; which for a single room i was pleasantly surprised. Although the bathroom, next door to the bedroom was slightly old fashioned,it was clean, and perfect for what i needed. The B and B was also central to everything in Oxfordshire- a 5 minute walk to the bus stop, with a ten-twenty minute journey into the City Centre, a 15 minute walk to the Summertown shops (which is 2-5 minutes by bus), with port meadow and the trout being just down the road! Also, if you have a car, it's also roughly a 20 minute drive to Bampton (where some of the exterior scenes for downtown abbey is filmed!), which i particularly enjoyed going to visit. Overall, great stay and will certainly be staying here again, on future visits to Oxfordshire!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The B & B is situated on the A40 and easily found off the ring road. Mr Price allowed me to leave my car in the morning even though I couldn't check in till later. A short walk to the r'bout and you are on the main road to Banbury where a frequent bus service into the city centre will take 15 mins. The bedroom at the back had a shower, basin and toilet next door which is the reason for the reduced rate. Besides the bathroom needing a makeover, it was not very inviting. The bedroom is difficult to clean as the double bed takes up a fair proportion of the room leaving very little carpet in view. There was an empty water bottle on the floor which the cleaner had not noticed, but it gave the room an unkept look. The tv remote control was sticky on the underside which was a very unpleasant feeling. The breakfast experience was very difficult as despite agreeing on a non-fried breakfast the day before, it took 3 attempts to arrive at my preferred option. The menu was sticky and the tablecloth stained. The deafening silence in the room could have been negated by a low volume local radio giving the latest traffic reports. I am sure Mr Price tries very hard and is extremely pleasant, but the standard of cleanliness is sadly lacking. Sue

Room Tip: Choose an en-suite
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CouncillorNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed here two nights a week for 18 months a few years ago while commuting from London to work at the University. It was very comfortable, and Mr Price was always welcoming: I remember well the full English breakfasts and chatting to him in the morning. It was also excellent value for Oxford. I can recommend Arden Lodge to other visitors.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank rdbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I travelled through England alone and went to visit Oxford. This B&B is located next to a bus-line which heads direct into central-Oxford. You can park your car in front of the premises. Mr. Price is a perfect and very friendly host. The room was very clean, breakfast was very good and plenty.
It`s a place to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hartmut G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

I stayed here for a conference that was being held in the nearby Barcelo Hotel in April 2009. Arden Lodge is very close but a fraction of the price. I asked for the largest room but was only charged for single occupancy. This was not an oversight, it was part of a very good deal!

Mr Price was very polite and welcoming. The breakfast and service were first class. Everything was clean and tidy. I am very pleased with my stay and am planning to stay there again for the conference next year.

Just a couple of words of warning: first, the mattress was too cheap so when one lies on the bed the mattress compressed to nothing and it is like lying on a hard board. It is a very minor point for me because I don't mind sleeping on a hard surface, but it might bother some people. This would be a very easy problem to fix, I don't know why this has been skimped on. Second, there is no wireless internet access. Some B&Bs have this now so Arden Lodge needs to catch up. Still, on all other points it gets top marks.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank apm35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews