We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for our visit to Oxford”
Review of Arden Lodge

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arden Lodge
Ranked #47 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2015

We stayed for two nights with a family of five in two rooms. Each room has its own bathroom. Rooms are comfortable. Although on a busy street the rooms are very quiet. The price was very reasonable compared to other locations. Mr Price is very fortcoming and serves an exellent breakfast, english as well as continental. Worth recommending.
Only a 5 minute walk to the busstop, bus drives you strait into towncentre

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArnoldE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (10)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 10 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed here a week in August 2013, having come down to visit friends. Mr Price was very friendly and welcoming, and offered great value for money for the single room I had booked. Having stayed in Oxford before, i found other b and b's to be very overpriced. Breakfast was brilliant, and i particularly enjoyed some of the conversations with Mr Price! The room was very clean, and offered great tea making facilities (particularly as I am a tea-a-holic!), and a double bed; which for a single room i was pleasantly surprised. Although the bathroom, next door to the bedroom was slightly old fashioned,it was clean, and perfect for what i needed. The B and B was also central to everything in Oxfordshire- a 5 minute walk to the bus stop, with a ten-twenty minute journey into the City Centre, a 15 minute walk to the Summertown shops (which is 2-5 minutes by bus), with port meadow and the trout being just down the road! Also, if you have a car, it's also roughly a 20 minute drive to Bampton (where some of the exterior scenes for downtown abbey is filmed!), which i particularly enjoyed going to visit. Overall, great stay and will certainly be staying here again, on future visits to Oxfordshire!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poppy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

The B & B is situated on the A40 and easily found off the ring road. Mr Price allowed me to leave my car in the morning even though I couldn't check in till later. A short walk to the r'bout and you are on the main road to Banbury where a frequent bus service into the city centre will take 15 mins. The bedroom at the back had a shower, basin and toilet next door which is the reason for the reduced rate. Besides the bathroom needing a makeover, it was not very inviting. The bedroom is difficult to clean as the double bed takes up a fair proportion of the room leaving very little carpet in view. There was an empty water bottle on the floor which the cleaner had not noticed, but it gave the room an unkept look. The tv remote control was sticky on the underside which was a very unpleasant feeling. The breakfast experience was very difficult as despite agreeing on a non-fried breakfast the day before, it took 3 attempts to arrive at my preferred option. The menu was sticky and the tablecloth stained. The deafening silence in the room could have been negated by a low volume local radio giving the latest traffic reports. I am sure Mr Price tries very hard and is extremely pleasant, but the standard of cleanliness is sadly lacking. Sue

Room Tip: Choose an en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CouncillorNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

I stayed here two nights a week for 18 months a few years ago while commuting from London to work at the University. It was very comfortable, and Mr Price was always welcoming: I remember well the full English breakfasts and chatting to him in the morning. It was also excellent value for Oxford. I can recommend Arden Lodge to other visitors.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank rdbels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I travelled through England alone and went to visit Oxford. This B&B is located next to a bus-line which heads direct into central-Oxford. You can park your car in front of the premises. Mr. Price is a perfect and very friendly host. The room was very clean, breakfast was very good and plenty.
It`s a place to remember.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hartmut G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
3.8 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0 km away
Hill Farm B&B
Hill Farm B&B
#1 of 1 in Marston
56 reviews
4.2 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 km away
Lane House B&B
Lane House B&B
#1 of 1 in Farmoor
55 reviews
8.9 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
1 km away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arden Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arden Lodge

Address: 34 Sunderland Avenue, Oxford OX2 8DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: ₹ 4,688 - ₹ 7,430 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arden Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Arden Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing