We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine but not what I wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 80 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fine but not what I wanted”
Reviewed 12 March 2012

I saw great reviews on bookdirectrooms.com, so I thought that I would enjoy my one month stay. Diana seems to have a very walm personality, very talkative during breakfast, especially to local. However, I found that some of my basic needs could not be met.

(1) I was forced to go to bed around 10pm, because there was no heat after 10am in the house while it was around 3 centigrade outside. I thought that there was some heating problem, but was told the next day that they don't offer heat 10pm - 6am, because that's the average time their guests go to sleep.

(2) no toilet paper were offered after I used up the half roll when I moved in. I had to ask for it.

(3) Hot shower is not guaranteed. I found no hot water sometimes 10:30pm, 7:30am, 8am, 9:30am. Some other guests also complained, but some guests said that they simply don't need a shower at all - they have no problem. Sometimes their boiler stopped working without a reason, sometimes, they just programmed the boiler or pipe to turn off, but I was told so after I found out.

(4) Room service once a week, but they don't offer fresh towels unless you ask. Noise during the day and after dinner. Sometimes they have dinner parties in their house.

It all depends on what you expect. If you are fine with these hidden house rules, this is a good place.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trapped2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana D, Owner at Diana's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review me. I am sorry that you were not comfortable in my B&B and thought that I have hidden house rules. I wonder, if you were not aware that as The University were funding your stay 'on a budget' with discounts, this meant you were not entitled to some services compared to full paying guests?
1. In my experience having heating on all night means some guests find it too hot and start opening windows. But I am also an advocate of keeping costs down so that I can pass this onto guests & I also believe in energy saving for our planet. This does not mean that I am mean with the heating and no other guest has let me know they were/are cold. Otherwise I will try to help.
2. I'm sorry no one showed you the spare rolls in the bathroom cupboard.
3. Yes, there were problems with the boiler when more than 1 shower/bath was being used at the same time. I have now installed a new boiler and a much larger water cylinder to make sure this doesn't happen any more.
4. I'm sorry you needed more towels but on a budget/discount stay I can always help, when asked to upgrade. Unfortunately, most B&B's have a 'family' attached to it and dinner parties; barbecue's etc can occur. Sometimes guests even join in.

I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay. Hopefully, Oxford University can send you back again and I can try and do better for you. All feedback is important to me be it good or bad, as it serves as a way to be able to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    24
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
30
25
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Central, warm, cosy, friendly welcoming hostess....home from home....excellent value

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank okami_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana D, Owner at Diana's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
I'm glad you found it to your liking! I now have a FB page and hope you have the time to 'like' me there too. Look out for special offers there too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.0 km away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
288 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,057 reviews
1.1 km away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
719 reviews
3.9 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
5.6 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diana's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diana's Bed & Breakfast

Property: Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2A Harefields, Oxford OX2 8NS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,388 - ₹ 9,485
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diana's Bed & Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Diana's large modern home is nestled in front of a beautifully landscaped garden, found at the back. Where in the summer months you can enjoy your breakfast in the sun. During the rest of the year we take our breakfast in the kitchen-breakfast room where you will be pampered with full English breakfast or continental if you prefer.The B & B boasts about its spotless rooms. They are all equipped with flat screen SKY TV, free wifi and luxury bed and bedding. All of the rooms are non-smoking so a comfortable area outside has been provided for you in the garden.There is a common area in the hallway where you can wait for your companions or while away your time reading the literature all about Oxford and don't forget to take away a map of Oxford center so you don't aimlessly waste your time away (unless that is what you really want!). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Diana's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing