We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Good, One Bad nothing particularly ugly”
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford
Ranked #12 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“One Good, One Bad nothing particularly ugly”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed for a Friday and a Sunday as we were walking the Wychwood Way so I will split the review accordingly. It wasn't a particularly bad stay but hopefully some improvements may come out of this and people can make an informed choice.
Check in - First stay was hopeless, the reception area was like a post disisaster area, people and luggage strewn about, only one rather harried lady on reception and took a while to check in. Platinum priority card not recognised (not a biggie for me but some insist). On our return it was easy - Less people more staff???
Room - Basic HI fare £60 a night room only, but it was clean, had everything we needed so fitted the bill. We were out early to get the bus to Woodstock. The bus service into Oxford and out to the boonies was good. Tip - on the park and ride check the ticket options before you board, money can be saved on returns, couples etc.
Second stay I was upgraded to the Executive rooms on the 4th Floor. Very much the same but more stuff for the Hotel klepto. It was appreciated as it was quieter and paid avanced B & B rate of £63.
Wireless - In this day and age a rip off. Quite simply in the last two years this is the first HI where wireless was charged. That is about 50 nights.....
Food - We only had breakfast on the second stay, the buffet was a good spread and the staff efficient and friendly. Prices in the bar dictate hotel environment.
Pool and gym - Good affair, we used the pool, steam and sauna rooms and whirlpool mostly. Forget trying to train for London 2012 as it can get a bit "Family orientated" and no one obeys the signs for under age kids in the whirlpool, steam and sauna - lung capacity people! Changing rooms ok but dry off well as you have to walk through the bar to get there. Staff were ok when not chatting to each other and remember a quid for the locker.
The location was ok and a walk across the service area will get you to the main road for bus services, a taxi back from Oxford was £9. There is coffee and a supermarket there, plus fried chicken.
Would I return? Probably I wanted to do the same again as it wasn't bad value for money and with a bit of work on staffing levels I would rate it higher. Remember to check for the parking code to leave, which is on reception. Friday night rating was a two, Sunday a four. They kindly allowed us to leave our luggage for the Saturday and provided info on local amenities, once they had time to do this.

Room Tip: Away from the main road is always better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiderpig41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. I appreciate that you rated us separately for your two nights and apologise for the shortfall in service due to a very busy check-in on the Friday.
I am pleased that you found the hotel and facilities overall enjoyable and that you appreciated your upgrade on Sunday.
I hope you enjoyed your Wychwood Way walk and that you will consider visiting us again in the future, when we will look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    470
    213
    47
    32
See reviews for
218
353
45
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
IPSWICH
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for 1 night on Easter Sunday on the Blenheim Palace package. Initial impression is good, room is small but clean, however the walls are paper thin so can be noisy, you can hear every single words next door! The evening meal was a disgrace, the restaurant manager was hopeless, looks like they were understaffed, we had to wait over 1 hr 15 min for our main course, the deserts never turned up, it was passed 10.00pm (booked table for 8.00pm) - we were getting tired of waiting and eventually walked out, the manager just looked shocked and limp (looks like he was having a breakdown). The breakfast staff was great and the food was superb. The healthclub and the pool was good also. We were told to collect the tickets to Blenheim Palace in the morning, but none was ready, so we had to wait further while they investigate what's happened and issue new ones, only to be queried by the Palace staff that they were not stamped! Overall it is unlikely we will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tak C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2012

we have stayed in quite a few holiday inns and this is one of the best. the rooms were very clean (the shower wasn't very hot - even on maximum) the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. it is situated in a convenient location with a park and ride within 5 minutes walk away, petrol station, waitrose, kentucky and starbucks on site. overall we were really pleased and would be happy to stay here again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alaskarox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Thank you very much for your recent comments following your Easter visit to the Holiday Inn Oxford. It is always a pleasure to receive complimentary feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Have just returned from very good long weekend at this hotel, loved having the pool / health club etc on site made very good use of this, good breakfast, pre-purchase breakfast voucher the night before for saving of approx £5 per person on cost, reception staff very polite and helpful, we booked through global booking site cost an average of £60 per night against advertised price of £155 per night. Very easy to visit local attractions and use the park and ride to go to central Oxford.Motorway services on site for Waitrose and Starbucks, for snacks or urgent supplies.
We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Surbiton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 17 April 2012
Many thanks for your kind and positive comments following your Easter stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and facilities and that you had a good day out at Cotswold Wildlife Park.
I hope that you will come and visit us again in the near future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We stayed in a family room for 2 nights. we booked this hotel as a base to explore Oxford. It was in a great location-10 min drive from oxford town centre and Bicester shopping village. there is a park and ride next to the hotel although we didn't use it.
The hotel itself has a clean fresh modern feel. The family rooms have a double bed and a sofa bed that converts into 2 singles. We did find it slighty cramped but weren't really in the room long enough for this to be a problem. We used the pool and it was quiet and clean with nice chanding rooms (£1 returnable locker fee) the hotel supply towels.
Breakfast was one of the best we've had, the cooked produce were fresh (even when we got to breakfast 10 mins before it closed the food was still plentiful and didn't look 'tired') and not greasy which I can't bear. Lots of fruit and pastries. Only niggle was the horrid coffee, if you are used to high street chain coffee then def steer clear and head across the car park the very handily placed Starbucks!-there is also a Waitrose there which was handy.
We were had only booked for two nights but decided to extend our stay, the hotel sorted this with no problems and we were able to keep the same room.
I would definatly reccommend a trip to the Cotswold Wildlife Park, beautiful setting and lots of close up encounters with the animals (we bought our tickets beforehand in the tourist information office in Oxford city centre, they were at a slightly reduced rate and were undated so you could use them whenever you liked)
I would also reccommend the tapas restaurant Al-Andulas in Little Clarendon Street-serioudly good tapas and paella.
Would happily return to Oxford and wouldn't hesitate in staying at the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobandJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Thank you very much for posting your reveiw on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford. It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback regarding the Hotel, staff and facilities and I have shared your kind comments with the team.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your trip to Cotswold Wildlife Park and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future so that you can explore more of Oxford!
Many thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
10.1 km away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.9 km away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#6 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
9.1 km away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#10 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
4.8 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
9.9 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford
Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#13 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,917 - ₹ 15,709
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oxford is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. The hotel is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Bicester Designer Outlet Village, Silverstone F1 Race Track, M4 motorway and Oxford Parkway Station. Holiday Inn Oxford is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford offering a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample parking. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our family rooms can accommodate up to 2 adults and 2 children and they are all supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Don't forget that in Holiday Inn Oxford kids Eat & Stay Free(Terms & conditions apply). The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford including the world famous University of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds and Blenheim Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, IHG and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing