We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Car Park Not Included”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #14 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Although the rooms are fine, this hotel is definitely not worth the money they charge. To add insult to injury they charge 15 pounds for the carpark without informing the guests. I asked the man at the desk when I checked in whether it was ok to park the car only to find out that I was being charged 15 pounds extra on check out. Apalling to not inform the guests in advance. When I questioned this practice the staff were arrogant and unhelpful, saying, 'it is clearly stated.' Surely guests expect car park charges to be part of the room fee? Won't be staying here again and would advise others not to. I have never experienced a hotel charging a car park fee for paying guests.They are obviously exploiting guests due to the lack of parking in central Oxford. I find this to be an unethical business practice. On a six day road trip this hotel came out as the worst value for money and with the most unhelpful and rude staff. The room was no better than average but for the money I expect better. This is an expensive hotel which provides a worse service than some at half the price.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms, which are very expensive, overlook the car park. The rooms that overlook the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

760 - 764 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel is very nice and cozy. The decoration is classic but modern in a way. In addition the location is nice with its locaiton just inside small street next to the main road so no noise from the main streeet.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank khuankaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel has an excellent location. Just a few steps off the High Street, so very close to everything. Welcome was swift and easy, but a few details missed out - no check did I want a paper delivered for example. Breakfast quite nice: cold buffet, hot food to be ordered from staff, served in a very pleasant room with nice views of the street. Our first sight of the room was a bit worrying as a large extractor fan/air conditioning unit was parked right outside our window, but we decided to see if the noise did dirsturb our sleep, and fortunately it did not as it was quite a steady white-noise type of sound. However we did have issues with the bed itself. There is no way this was even a full size English double bed, so if you are used to larger (American) bed sizes you might be in for a shock. Also we suffered from the dreaded waterproof layer under the bottom sheet which might protect the mattress but also means one spends the night as if in a sauna. But then again we could have stripped this off I suppose. The bathroom was absolutely fine and spotlessly clean (as was everywhere else in the hotel as far as I could see).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheffchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Located in a recently refurbished historic building a short walk from King's, Magdalen, Merton and Christ Church colleges, the Mercure Eastgate Oxford offers a great location for visiting the numerous colleges of Oxford University, as well as several ancient pubs and good restaurants in the area - all within easy walking distance of the hotel.
The recent refurbishment has given the interior of the hotel a stylish, contemporary feel.
I recently stayed there for three days, on a visit to Oxford with my wife, son and daughter-in-law.We considered it a very good choice; for location and for overall comfort and good service.
The rooms we had were not large, but adequate for our needs. The bathroom featured a combination bathtub and shower.
On check-in, the desk staff were friendly and helpful.
We were very impressed by the renovated ground floor sitting room, with plenty of space for comfortable seating for several small groups, as well as the restaurant on the ground floor where we had an outstanding buffet breakfast each morning. The dining room staff were very pleasant and helpful, making the time spent there very enjoyable....and both hot and cold dishes offered for the buffet breakfast were abundant, well prepared and well presented.
Given its excellent location, adequate rooms and excellent buffet breakfasts, we thought that the room prices, inclusive of buffet breakfast, were quite reasonable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeafarerRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichardCoerdlion
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.8 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
714 reviews
1.1 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
720 reviews
3.9 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: ₹ 11,341 - ₹ 25,260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing