We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, but let down by a few domestic details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Ranked #15 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent location, but let down by a few domestic details”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

This hotel has an excellent location. Just a few steps off the High Street, so very close to everything. Welcome was swift and easy, but a few details missed out - no check did I want a paper delivered for example. Breakfast quite nice: cold buffet, hot food to be ordered from staff, served in a very pleasant room with nice views of the street. Our first sight of the room was a bit worrying as a large extractor fan/air conditioning unit was parked right outside our window, but we decided to see if the noise did dirsturb our sleep, and fortunately it did not as it was quite a steady white-noise type of sound. However we did have issues with the bed itself. There is no way this was even a full size English double bed, so if you are used to larger (American) bed sizes you might be in for a shock. Also we suffered from the dreaded waterproof layer under the bottom sheet which might protect the mattress but also means one spends the night as if in a sauna. But then again we could have stripped this off I suppose. The bathroom was absolutely fine and spotlessly clean (as was everywhere else in the hotel as far as I could see).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    440
    270
    81
    44
See reviews for
177
437
104
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Located in a recently refurbished historic building a short walk from King's, Magdalen, Merton and Christ Church colleges, the Mercure Eastgate Oxford offers a great location for visiting the numerous colleges of Oxford University, as well as several ancient pubs and good restaurants in the area - all within easy walking distance of the hotel.
The recent refurbishment has given the interior of the hotel a stylish, contemporary feel.
I recently stayed there for three days, on a visit to Oxford with my wife, son and daughter-in-law.We considered it a very good choice; for location and for overall comfort and good service.
The rooms we had were not large, but adequate for our needs. The bathroom featured a combination bathtub and shower.
On check-in, the desk staff were friendly and helpful.
We were very impressed by the renovated ground floor sitting room, with plenty of space for comfortable seating for several small groups, as well as the restaurant on the ground floor where we had an outstanding buffet breakfast each morning. The dining room staff were very pleasant and helpful, making the time spent there very enjoyable....and both hot and cold dishes offered for the buffet breakfast were abundant, well prepared and well presented.
Given its excellent location, adequate rooms and excellent buffet breakfasts, we thought that the room prices, inclusive of buffet breakfast, were quite reasonable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeafarerRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Came here for a nice relaxing long weekend with my husband but unfortunately we were woken up early every morning of our stay thanks to building work opposite and our room being adjoining to the lift and stairs - both of which produced a lot of noise.

The room was nice and big, comfy bed etc but this was all spoilt by the above. I recommended light sleepers not to take Room 201.

The hotel is in a good location to walk to all places of interest and though you are seconds from the high st, you are protected from the noise from there.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaycirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERKSHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

central with very easy access to sights. Staff helpful and friendly but some of the rooms could be a bit noisy. Smallish room but adequate enough if you dont intend to stay in all the time. Would go again

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TILLYFARLAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.8 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.9 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
690 reviews
1.1 km away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
699 reviews
1.3 km away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Property: Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,424 - ₹ 27,031
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing