We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Parsonage Hotel
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stayed at the Old Parsonage for 4 nights in October 2011. It was centrally located, with an old fashioned style, a solid restaurant and a quaint setting. The bar is bustling, the staff helpful and i would certainly go again

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (753)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

555 - 559 of 753 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

We loved this hotel. It's cozy, 'tis true but so restful. We arrived at around 11:00 a.m. and our room was ready. We registered and spent the day walking all over Oxford. In the evening we enjoyed a good meal at the hotel restaurant and the next morning had breakfast in front of the fireplace in the bar.

The staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Only drawback, it's a bit of a schlep with luggage from ground floor to the third where we stayed -- but we wouldn't have changed our room. The amenities were good for us. I love older properties but can get a bit fussy about things. I have not a single complaint for this place. We'll be back again -- and again.

Don't miss it.

Room Tip: We book room 31 -- at the top. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Restaurant at the hotel is one of the best restaurant in Oxford. I spent a week at this hotel and enjoyed walking around the city. There is a bus stop in front of hotel going to the outlet ( don't forget to ask for a discount voucher from the concierge)

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suchada S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Warm log fires in Winter Alfresco Dining in Summer This hotel has everything
Supoerb food wonderful service Dine in an atmoshere where the centuries old builing
with candles and paintings reminds you this is England at its best .
Do visit and experience not only a great place to stay but is ideally central to all you can wish t o see in this famous city

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Safely parked, my two sisters and I enjoyed a smooth check in for our much anticipated overnight reunion.

We were shown up the stairs to a large deluxe room at the front of the hotel. The room was beautifully decorated, plush, but not at all chintzy - totally in keeping with the rest of the hotel. The room had all the facilities we needed and was tastefully and sympathetically decorated and furnished - essential in a building dating back to the 17th century. At the front we overlooked the walled terrace and at the back our double aspect room orverlooked a small roof terrace which we had access to.

It was a Wednesday so we had the jazz supper menu in the restaurant whilst listening to live jazz playing in the bar. The salmon mousse was light and refreshing, followed by pork belly with roasted winter vegetables and chestnuts for me, my sisters chose the bavette steak which came with salad and chips – they were both thrilled with their choice – ‘fabulous steak’. The waitress helped us in our choice of wine she was efficient and friendly, desserts disappeared.

Breakfast, full English, was divine. The thing that has stayed with me is how relaxed our stay was, how friendly the staff were. We appreciated the warm welcome and in the morning popped off to the Ashmolean and city centre for shopping, all just a 2 minute walk away.

I would definitely recommend the Old Parsonageto anyone who would appreciate relaxing in a luxury, but not too pricey, city hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charmaine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.9 km away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 45 in Oxford
1,236 reviews
0.5 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.7 km away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 45 in Oxford
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
2.9 km away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
5.5 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Parsonage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Parsonage Hotel

Address: 1 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: ₹ 15,336 - ₹ 36,264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Old Parsonage Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ranked as the best hotel in Oxford, the 17th century Old Parsonage is situated in the heart of this historic city at the end of the beautiful boulevard St Giles. The recently completed restoration combines the original charm and character of the building with the very latest comfort, amenity and technology available today. The Old Parsonage restaurant and bar, famous for its intimate, bohemian, clubby atmosphere, serves classic British food with a modern, light touch. Open every day of the year, breakfast, lunch, dinner and our famous afternoon teas can be enjoyed in the company of Oxford's academic and literary elite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Old Parsonage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Old Parsonage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing