We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveller rating
12
25
13
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
12
25
13
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews abingdon road city centre full english breakfast tv guesthouse
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 64 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2014

In a strategic position for visiting the beautiful Oxford, reachable by bus or on foot at all hours in 20 minutes. Quiet, peaceful, good quality - price ratio. The young manager is very helpful and friendly: highly recommended for those who want to stay in Oxford. Next you will find an excellent fish and chips and a good pub.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I recently stayed in the double en-suit room and I think it was overall a good accommodation. The room was nice and spacious enough, the restroom quite small but very clean, which is always important. TV never worked, except for two channels, and I personally had a problem with lack of places where to hang a towel or let a t-shirt dry, but these aren't big issues if you stay for a few nights. Last, the manager is not on-site, so you can't ask anyone if you need an extra towel or something like that, although he can always be reached by phone.
Breakfast was a pro, very good and cheap, 5pounds for both the English and the continental choice. Only problem, it's served from 8.30 to 9.30 am, which may be a problem, since as you walk all day you may be want to sleep some more; unfortunately, there aren't many other breakfast choices unless you walk to downtown.
To be honest, for what I could see the value-price proportion is not awesome in the UK, but in comparison with our London stay this one was good.

Room Tip: the double en-suit is good
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BennyRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

After our first B&B was terrible this place saved our visit. We called and they had a room. We got there and were met by George who was very polite and courteous. He checked us in and showed us our room. It was great, nice clean room, room amenities, hot shower, it was great. Breakfast was very quick and again George took our order and breakfast was quick. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, but for five pounds, why not. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GlbalTrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Though our room was not ready when we were told it would be, the manager was able to store our bags, so that worked for us.

Our room was clean, and had an ensuite bathroom, which was nice. Bed was decent and all appliances worked in the room. The sheet had a bit of a weird smell (perhaps like heavy Febreeze?), but other than that, it was a nice place to stay just a short bus ride away from the city centre. The breakfast was tasty, too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiffany I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I'm sure you can get more bang for your buck elsewhere. The Ridings Guest House isn't terribly close to the centre of Oxford, and the rooms aren't that great. The locks on the doors were awful and the staff were quite difficult to get hold of / reluctant to help.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews