We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Buttery Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 370
Old Bank Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 208
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 433
US$ 412
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 139
US$ 117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 138
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 320
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 210
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 133
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (400)
Filter reviews
400 results
Traveller rating
88
188
80
29
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
188
80
29
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbroad streetballiol collegethe cafe downstairsgreat locationfirst floorcentral locationsingle doorno liftlisted buildingold buildingnoise from the streetcontinental breakfastheavy luggagelimited mobilitytrain stationfull englishdeluxe room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
301 - 306 of 400 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2012

we went in December to pick our daughter up from semester abroad from oxford. we did the walking tour which was very informative and worth the money. we then explored on our own. went to Bodlean museum. there is street noise at front of hotel but we came for the oxford experience and were not disappointed. everything walkable. we took bus from heathrow and station is just down the street. we rolled our suitcases to the hotel. we left on train and for 7 pounds we took cab to train station. pre-booked train to london for $7 for the 3 of us plus luggage.

Room Tip: if noise a concern, ask for room not facing the street. be prepared to heave luggage up steps. narrow and spiraling. My advise is that everything in Oxford, London and Paris can be done casual and just take a couple of pairs of jeans, a few sweaters and pack LIGHT! You will not regret the ability to get around if your luggage is just a small easy to lift, rolling suitcase. THe ones with 4 spinner wheels are even easier to handle through all the metro tunnels and train stations.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maryloujoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed in this hotel for one night in December 2011 when we visited the New Theatre in Oxford. Excellent location, Rooms are a really good size and very clean and well equipped. We stayed in a twin at the rear of the property. Breakfast was excellent and beautifully cooked. This hotel or the cafe part often appears on the TV show "Lewis" where the two prime characters are often seen sitting outside drinking coffee. The flat screen TV could have been a little larger, it was about 19 inch and sited quite a way away on the dresser table. Will definitely stay again though and can thoroughly reccomend this hotel.

Room Tip: We heard late night revellers on Broad Street (front of hotel) during the night. It's not the hotels fault but if you absolutely must have quiet ask for one of the rooms at the rear, no problems there, we wouldn't have heard them if we did not have the window open.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ImMandyFlyMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

Centrally located. Nice enough place to stay - very helpful staff. Average breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

I stayed here in June with my partner as we were attending a meeting in Oxford. The good points are the location is very central. That is about it. The room was tiny, looked out over a back alley and was like a furnace it was so hot. Even sleeping with the window wide open provided no relief. This is an old building so access to the room is via steps and corridors. The result of which is hearing people walking around all night.
The breakfast was average but the staff were quite offish and I didn't really feel welcome. As a result I woudn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Apparently the top floor rooms are larger and I would imagine quieter so request one.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhsporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

We had booked a one night stay here, attending an event in Jericho. The evening before we were due to arrive we received an email advising us that "a slight problem has arisen with your deluxe double room" and they had moved us to the Mercure Eastgate.

We were a little put out by this, the Mercure is further away from the event and the faffing around was going to eat into our schedule. However, on checking, we soon realised that this was an upgrade to a full service hotel with a free breakfast thrown in for good measure.

What's more, when we arrived at the Buttery to get details of the new arrangement, they gave us £10 towards additional taxi fares!

Based on the prompt, courteous and pleasant service we received at the Buttery I would certainly book a room there in the future - the location is perfect.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jart_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews