We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely weekend on the Thames”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
Narrowboat Holidays River Thames - Boat Gema moored in Henley-On-Thames
Cruise along the River Thames on your own narrowboat. Boat Gema passing through Caversham, Reading
Cruise at your own pace, visit the many beautiful pubs, towns along the way
Stern deck on Boat Gema gives ample room for driving the boat
Explore the River Thames on your own self-drive boating holiday. Full tuition provided before you go
Boat Gema cruising in Caversham, Reading
Cruising through Caversham
Arriving at Henley-On-Thames
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Narrowboat -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Irene H
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend on the Thames”
Reviewed 18 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This was our 2nd weekend break with family and friends, this year we picked up Gema Narrow Boat from Caversham, we meet Jane for the hand over who was very helpful. Started at Caversham traveled to Henley, Marlow, Sonning then back to Caversham, such a lovely route.
The Gema is a very comfortable with 3 double bedrooms, well equipped with crockery, cutlery, bedding and towels, very clean and well presented.
We had a minor technical problem whilst on board but one call to Jane who advised us by phone what to do and in no time we very on our way again, such brilliant service and reassuring that help is just a phone call away.
Thank you Jane you made the whole weekend very easy from start to finish, booking, handover and help during our weekend, note to anyone doing the same route The Coppa at Sonning is a lovely place to eat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2018
Thank you for your positive comments. Despite the technical hitch we are pleased you all had a great time and enjoyed your boating holiday. We look forward to seeing you next year. Jane and Rob and Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B4849EKgr...
Lindos, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A great weekend on the river with friends”
Reviewed 16 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We arrived at 12.30, inspected the boat, did the handover and was on the way by 2pm which gave us plenty of time to travel to Henley our first stop. The boat was lovely and clean with fresh towels and bedding. We had a few little niggles with one of the toilets and the aerial lead was broken off the TV but nothing that stopped us having a great time. Because we had a small problem with the electrics Rob and Jane let us hand the boat back at lunchtime on Monday which was a very nice gesture and finished off the weekend nicely (not having to rush back)

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2018
Thank you for your feedback which we have taken onboard. We are delighted you had a lovely holiday and look forward to seeing you again. Jane and Rob and Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBaird
Emsworth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect Location for 50th Birthday Celebration with friends.”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This was our first time on a narrow boat, from the start we received a warm welcome from the owner of Gema and after tuition through a lock we were off on our way!.

Gema is a beautiful boat, very well equipped and cosy. We chose to take the route to Henley On Thames, the scenery is beautiful, lots of wildlife and we found plenty of places to moor up. We particularly liked Sonning where you can take a short walk to The Bull Inn, had a very nice dinner here to celebrate my birthday.

Would definitely like to book this again :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
We'd love to see you again and are delighted you had a great holiday. Thank you for your lovely comments. Jane, Sam and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandTour...
1 review
“Lovey experience - would do it again!”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Impressed with the boat! Could do with some storage space for big bags though! We were 4 people staying on and 8 sleeper and would have been ridiculously cramped if there were even 6 of us! But an awesome experience and a lovely way to experience the English Countryside.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your feedback and for your booking. We'd love to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
misabelit...
Vitrolles, France
1 review
“Lovely journey”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We really enjoy our week in the narrow boat Gema. It is perfect for 2 families even if the salon extra bed is not very confortable. It was our first time in England and we were glad to rent a typical narrow boat. It is well equipped and big enough for 7 people. The nature around is amazing and despite of the rain we loved our journey on the Thames.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2017
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed your boating holiday. Jane, Sam and Rob
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing