We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Reviewed 9 April 2012

We spent three nights over Easter at this hotel. We enjoyed the stay and the staff were very friendly and helpful although they were working flat out given the hotel was fully booked. We ended up eating every day at the hotel as the restaurant offered an excellent menu where the children could eat the buffet while we ordered al-la carte. We did make use of the hire cycles to explore the vast grounds and also managed to play a round of golf on the last day. The children made use of the pool every day.

A special mention for the excellent service from Laura at the reception who arranged to have our room packed and moved while we we out so that we had a better view! And to Amanda in the restaurant who was ever so helpful.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Wq949966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thankyou for the great feedback, the whole team were delighted to read how much you enjoyed Easter with us. I have also passed your thanks to Laura & Amanda.

We all look forward to weloming you back to Heythrop in the near future, thank you again.
John Angus
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,324)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,154 - 1,158 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2012

I stay away 30 days a year with work. One of the perks is I get to use my loyalty points to take the family away.

When we arrived it defiantly had the wow factor. Great grounds, smashing old country house with a modern wing. On arrival one of our rooms wasn't ready but they soon got it all sorted and it didn't cause any problems. The hotel has a strange mix of business hotel, spa resort, county house and centreparcs, This becomes apparent when they hand you a map of the hotel and the grounds which are extensive.

The kids loved the free transfer to the spa in the golf buggy and exploring the way through the old hotel. .It's only a 5 minute walk.

The gym is top notch and the pool is great. A little busy when we were there but it was easter and our kids were helping generate the noise.

Our rooms were 3008 and 3010 which were interconnecting executive rooms; they were faultless. I recommend saying in the new side as the room in the old hotel looked a little small and tired.

everything else? Typical hotel fayre in the restaurants and bars. All open and feeling a little in-personal sometimes but the decor in nice and vibrant. We sat over in the country house part in the evening and it deal feel very different. Nice attentive staff and with the piano playing almost romantic

Defiantly recommend this place. If the weather was better it would have been perfect

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dayvboyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We won this break on ebay and checked the reviews out before bidding and found them to be very mixed. The central Cotswolds location however swayed us and we won the auction (at a considerably reduced normal room rate). Its fair to say that the room size was smaller than average and whilst it was fine for a weekend it would be claustrophobic staying for very much longer. With only one small wardrobe which also housed the ironing board, tea making facilities, hair dryer and shelves you couldnt hang up a shirt without knocking everything over when trying to retrieve it. Our balcony room had been "lost" as we arrived quite late (which was a shame as it would have enjoyed superb views as opposed to staring at the concrete back wall of another building). With all said and done the room was very well appointed and if you were simply using it as a bedroom it wouldnt be a problem but with only one chair and a shaped "desk top" (to enable a slide under chair) there was just enough room to get around the bed when stepping over your bags and clothes!!
The staff were friendly (though most BOH staff didnt speak much English) and the boutique style furnishings were better to look at than to use. The leisure facilities were a long walk away (about as far as the car park) and full of kids so no peace and quiet!! The old part of the building was architecturally superb but very tired and in need of an overhaul. So would we go back? For a weekend sightseeing and getting out and about - definitely but not to spend time at the hotel. We had a great time and there's lots to see and do but two massive down sides here (for me):
1 - Breakfast is NOT included and costs a whopping £20 / person. We found a superb cafe down the road in chipping Norton and ate a super freshly cooked full breakfast for £14 for two!
2 - Wi fi costs £9 for 24Hrs
Otherwise food and drinks were a little steep but not rip off prices as this is (supposed to be) a 4* Hotel. Go to the Crown at the end of the drive for s splendid gastro pub meal for a fraction of the price.
I hope that helps! April 2012

Room Tip: Request a Balcony Room and stick to the Crown Plaza and not the old building
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Markbinherts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thankyou for your comments, we constantly review feedback and adjust our services accordingly, please be assured that your review has been discussed with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Heythrop,with a balcony or better!
Thanks
John Angus
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed two nights, with the kids in the next room. The look of the hotel was excellent, as were the grounds, but it was let down by the execution.

Why would you build a new four star hotel with tiny rooms? There was maybe two feet around the bed. Barely enough room to move past each other. Space was further eroded because there was nowhere to store the second suitcase, and even if there was, apart from hanging space, there was nowhere to store clothes, apart from one small drawer.

Housekeeping - they didnt replenish the teas and coffees for the second day without being asked. Also, despite being a new hotel, the bathroom shaver socket was loose and wobbly....the toothbrush wouldnt charge as the plug kept on falling out.

Food.....again average. Ate in the Brassey Bar. Took ages for anyone to take our order, and then took an hour for the food to arrive. When the food arrived, they had missed off one of the side orders. Kids pizza looked like one of those minging 6 inch supermarket basics frozen pizzas that come ten in a packet. Why they couldnt be bothered to do a proper pizza I dont know, as there were a couple of pizzas on the full menu......unless they also come with a "ding beep beep". Burger was overdone.....didnt seem like 8oz, which is the equivalent of two quarter pounders, which should be a lot of meat. Glass of red had wine all over the base of the glass.....was like a couldnt care less attitude to service. Food also seemed rather pricey for what it was.

Mobile reception....the posting from the hotel about three weeks ago is incorrect or vague.....there was no reception on T-Mobile, Virgin Mobile or Orange. Apparently Vodafone is OK, but I couldnt verify this. We were given free wifi vouchers due to my Platinum Elite status, but surely they should make all wifi free until there is decent coverage (the Crowne Plaza I stay at for business has free wifi for everyone.....why cant this one?).

Pool - only four feet deep at the deep end, and a couple of feet deep in the shallow end. However half the pool was roped off for "club members only", but was empty and unused, whereas the hotel guests were all spashing around in the other half.....couldnt swim properly there.

Value for money - the room was good value as I redeemed PC points for both rooms/both nights. However I wouldnt pay £85 a night per room for this hotel, nor would I/did I spend the £80 each day for a family of four for breakfast. I was also disappointed that I had to ask to have my "free drink voucher" (which was handed in at checkin) applied to my bill on departure.

I wouldnt describe the hotel as "horrendous" as a couple checking out at the same time as us did. I would though return as a single traveller on business, on PC points or if someone else was paying.

Room Tip: I *think* some of the basic rooms have showers only and some have baths.....make sure you book the o...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Froggitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for your comments, please be assured they have been fuly reviewed with the team, as you said we have various types of rooms and sizes.

When you would like to return please call me directly and I will ensure one of our best rooms is allocated for you, my number is 01608 673333.
Thanks
John Angus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Where do i start, from the time we got there until the time we left it was great. The grounds were fantastic, definatly a massive 70's theme throughout. Cant under stand why so many people are moaning, we have, as well as everyone else on trip advisor stayed at 5*resort and i would happily recomend this place an i will be staying here again, take that tribute night was brilliant

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bristolbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Wow, thankyou for the great comments, I was delighted to read your review. It was also great to read your comments on Take That 2.

We plan to have a tribute night each month, hopefully we'll see you for ABBA 2!
Thanks
John Angus
Resort Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 km away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#5 of 5 in Chipping Norton
1,014 reviews
29.8 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
12.6 km away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 km away
Oxford Witney Hotel
Oxford Witney Hotel
#4 of 7 in Witney
858 reviews
20.3 km away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,099 reviews
36.7 km away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price Range: ₹ 7,471 - ₹ 15,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford Chipping Norton, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing