We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
387 results
Traveller rating
98
120
77
53
39
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
98
120
77
53
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street the pub a small car park breakfast was included lovely place real ale stayed for one night large bathroom two night stay old building the main street short stay warm welcome poster bed feel very welcome an evening meal comfortable room
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 387 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Sparrow Room which has a bath in the bedroom. The bath was lovely and hot and filled up quickly. The room was beautiful and cosy. We had dinner which was really nice and good value for money. English breakfast was very nice. We will definately stay here again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Moonpie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

We stayed at this hotel for one night just over a week ago. The room size was good, we stayed in the annex outside of the main building. The breakfast was good and the bed was comfortable. However, there was two massive let downs, to this hotel. One being, the parking outside is literally a few inches away from the window of your room, so early in the morning you will hear people talking, suit cases being moved and cars starting up. The second put off, was we stayed in November this year, bearing in mind this was Winter, the heating was not switched on at night, and when we woke up in the morning, the radiators where stone cold.There was no way we could control the heating, this was done through reception. We was given a little portable heater, however a six inch heater will not be enough to heat two rooms up in Winter.
Overall, an average stay, however I am unsure if I would come back again.

Room Tip: Inside and not the annex
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christopher O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

Me and my fiancée went to stay here for a few days and we couldn’t have been more impressed. The inn had lots of character, the staff were very friendly and there was a great selection of drinks. We ate there both nights and the food was sublime my partner had the duck salad on both nights and couldn’t stop raving about it. The rooms were very clean and had a good sized bathroom. All in all we had a great stay and would recommend this place to anyone we are definitely coming back to stay again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017

This 18th century inn has seen better days.
No WiFi in the rooms and very poor mobile phone signal. Our bedroom was very basic with a drab decor although it did have TV and tea-making facilities. The heated towel rail was held together with gaffer tape, the main radiator wasn't working and the toilet seat wasn't fixed properly. Whilst at breakfast, water poured through a light fitting from a room above. There is no disabled access to the rooms as far as I could tell. The bar area is a typical, busy, town pub for drinkers.
TIP: don't be tempted into the tiny car park at the rear of the hotel - you'll never get back out! There is a huge free public car park only 5 minutes away so drop off the wife with the cases and drive round the block to park.

Room Tip: Not over-looking the car park
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bashfullman, Manager at Golden Pheasant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

I'd just like to correct you on a couple of points.

We do have Wi-Fi in all the rooms and bar and restaurant.

We are not a telecoms company so cannot be held responsible for the phone signal.

We do have disabled room access on the ground floor, there is no law requiring disabled access to all rooms.

Part of the charm of an 18th Century Cotswold Inn is that not everything is perfect, these buildings have stood the test of time, welcoming many visitors over centuries, and will continue to do so, long after our time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night close to Christmas pre shopping in the Cotswolds. Twin room was clean and the bathroom had a massive shower with good quality toiletries. Room clean and spacious at the back of the hotel over looking the garden so no noise. Breakfast delicious and would definitely return.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stuartraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews