We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Break”
other travellers have booked this property
The Stables
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Stables
The South Facing Cotswold Stone Stables The Cottages Elevation
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
The Stables
The South Facing Cotswold Stone Stables
The Cottages Elevation
The Collection of Converted Barns Dating Back to 1790.
The Barns in the Snow!
The Enclosed Garden with Open Garden Beyond
Adjacent Cottage - The Granary 2 Bed 95459
The View of the Cottages from the Alvescot Downs
The Neighbours!
Ample Parking Directly Adjacent to the Cottage
Fully Fitted Kitchen
Lounge/ Diner. Table Extends.
Lounge/ Diner
Downstairs Shower Room
Downstairs King
1st Floor Double
1st Floor Double
1st Floor Twin
1st Floor Twin
1st Floor Bathroom
The Hayloft Suite- Available on request
The Hayloft King En-suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft King En-suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft King En-suite Guest Suite
The Hayloft SeatingArea with TV
The Hayloft Kitchenette
The Hayloft En-suite
The Hayloft En-Suite
The Hayloft En-suite
The Saddlery Disabled Friendly Suite- Available on request
The Saddlery Disabled Friendly Suite
The Saddlery Seating Area
The Saddlery Seating Area
The Saddlery Kitchenette
The Saddlery Wet Room
The Saddlery Wet Room
The Saddlery Optional Twin Annex
Games Room Also Includes Additional Washing Machine, Dryer and Freezer
Games Room Features Fitness Machines, Table Tennis, Pool and Darts
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Burford, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Richard E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Break”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We booked this as a birthday treat and had a wonderful time where the owners were totally supportive and helpful throughout enquiry, booking, arrival and leaving the lovely proprty. This was our first visit and we would wholeheartedly recommend this place - Mr and Mrs Garbutt were also very helpful in advising us of local activities for the children and which places were pet friendly - this is such a bonus today when a lot of places are not pet animal friendly......

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Games room, location and family support
Liked least: Not long enough as we had to return home for school and work..........
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2014
Thanks for your kind words. We are so glad that you had a good break and we are happy to welcome return visitors.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChellyJon...
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fantastic location, accommodation and facilities”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Recently stayed at The Stables for two nights with friends and had a lovely weekend. Located very close to both Burford and Bourton on the water, it's a great place to stay to explore the Cotswolds. The cottage was beautiful and the views spectacular. We stayed in both nights and enjoyed a home made meal as well as games of darts and pool in the lovely games room. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: accommodation
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you had a lovely stay and we hope you return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 May 2014 for a stay in May 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and that you want to come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jo R
local yokel
1 review
“Disappointed of Tunbridge Wells”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The cottage was clean and well decorated. It was too small for 6 adults and 2 small children. There was not enough room for everyone to sit down or at the table. The sofas were very uncomfortable and the cushions slipped off all the time. The mattresses on the beds were cheap and very uncomfortable. The springs stuck into me all night long. There was a huge dip in the middle too.
The space for clothes in the chest of drawers was mostly taken up with bed lined. Why not have a lined cupboard, there was lots of room for one on the landing.
The neighbours are a big problem. They do not like anyone who stays in the cottages and were very rude to my family.
There is quite a nice view and the cottage is conveniently located for the shops and siteseeing. There were no flowers in the garden and the fenced area was not at all attractive. I think that a lot could be done to improve the garden.
There were instructions all over the place, even stuck to the table which was quite annoying.
I was disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: It was light and sunny
Liked least: bed and sofas and lack of space.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2014
Dear Tom & Family, We are obviously really very disappointed by your review, as we have never had a bad review before and we get many repeat visitors. We hope that potential holiday makers will read our other reviews for this property and 95459, so they know that most people are very happy. We are also upset to think you did not enjoy your stay and that you did not come to talk to us about the issues you were having, since we are on hand next door. I do apologise if our neighbour was rude-we don't know exactly what happened between you, but we would happily have talked to them for you, if we had known. As for notices- they are designed to respond to the questions we get asked and are to make it easier for guests. They are explanatory and not prohibitive. The one on the table that annoyed you, just advises guests that it's extendable, which we don't think is unreasonable. That is how you sit more people at the table, which was one of your other issues and there are spare chairs provided. There is breakfast bar too. The sofas are leather and from M&S, but there's a throw you can use if you don't like the feel of them. In the double room for example, there are 5 drawers plus 2 bedside cabinets which are empty and only 1 with spare matching linen (which is there for use by guests if needed), so we don't really understand that particular point. There's also a wardrobe. You only came for 2 nights in any event. We notice you paid a little less than the agreed price and we now understand why, but I will say that no-one has never done that before. Your review also explains why the property was left so untidy on departure, which again is very unusual and hardly ever happens. We also notice that the supports under one of the beds had been dislodged, which may explain why it was uncomfortable. The cottage is 3 bed and those on a budget often use the sofa bed and cot to maximise the value- it's a good price for 6 adults and 2 children. For those that prefer more room, we have a guest suite available, which is advertised on our web site. We would have much preferred it if you had discussed this with us and we do hope your review won't put off other guests, as our business is important to us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
544Sharon...
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Value for money”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Lovely place. Nice and private. Good base for lots of places. All you need for a nice break. Would use again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you had a good break here and we look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing