We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cotswold Gateway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Burford
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012 via mobile

Had a meal here on Easter Sunday evening,,we were staying in the Travelodge which is just a short walk away. Good menu, really good food and excellent service.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    124
    42
    23
    5
See reviews for
112
198
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed 3rd and 4th April,while visiting our son. When we arrived at the hotel quite busy but check in was easy. We stayed in room 6, the bed was very comfy and linen spotless, we slept very well, never heard a thing all night. Our son and his friend had dinner with us on Wednesday evening and the food was enjoyable, staff friendly. Breakfast ok, we dont eat red meat buty still plenty to choice. Burford is a pretty little town with a historic church which we visited. We also went to Bourton on Water and Wildlife Park which were both very interesting. We would stay here again when visiting our son.

Room Tip: room 6 not a good view but very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLUE078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed 1 night with friends in Burford. Couldn't recomend highly enough. We wanted a reasonable pub type cosy hotel. Price, location and good food were important. I wasn't expecting the best, as the prices in the Cotswolds are not cheap, but really surprised. Our room was lovely and really quite cheap. The staff were all really friendly, and gave us a good run down on the area. We were going to eat in Burford but after asking locals were to eat, everyone told us where we were staying had a really good reputation, so we ate at the cosy pub/restaurant in our hotel and it was fantastic.

Breakfast was very good too, the full english breakfast, everything you could want, nice intimate room and not too many people staying either.

Burford is so picturesque, exactly like a chocolate box village and for a reasonable stylish hotel I would totally recomend this hotel, it has so much more charm than a chain hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank natalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Really enjoyed one night here, got a great rate, really good value compared to others in the village, excellent service and breakfast, lovely clean room with comforable bed and nice TV and toiletries.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank proukakis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

Had a lovely stay over the weekend, staff very friendly and helpful. Our room with four poster bed was very comfortable and clean.Parking facilities were good, will difinetly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mark c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burford
0.5 km away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#3 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
3.8 km away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
0.5 km away
The Lamb Inn
The Lamb Inn
#2 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
The Bay Tree Hotel
The Bay Tree Hotel
#4 of 8 in Burford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.5 km away
Golden Pheasant
Golden Pheasant
#8 of 8 in Burford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
13.8 km away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Gateway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Gateway Hotel

Property: Cotswold Gateway Hotel
Address: Cheltenham Road, Burford OX18 4HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Burford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Burford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Burford
#2 Business Hotel in Burford
#4 Luxury Hotel in Burford
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,284 - ₹ 11,782
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Gateway Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Cotswold Gateway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Gateway Hotel Burford, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing