We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quirky retreat”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lydia B
1 review
“Quirky retreat”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

The house is finished to a really high standard and has lots of beautifully unique touches which transformed our short break into a real treat. Location is great too with wonderful farm shops and good pubs around for delicious food. Host was really helpful especially in providing cots etc for the children. Recommended without hesitation.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
Thank you Lydia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenML...
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed our two week stay at Purple Poppy Cottage in Burton Joyce. The house was beautifully clean and had everything we needed. Angela and Sven are very nice and extremely helpful. The welcome package was very welcome containing all the necessary items plus a bottle of red and white wine. Cheers.

Should we need to stay in the Nottingham area again, we know where to go.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
Thank you Stephen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison G
1 review
“Amazing cottage. Attention to detail was fabulous.”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stayed here for a weekend with the family, all adults. The cottage is decorated and equipped to a very high standard. Nothing seems to have been overlooked. Loved the mouse hole! Beds were comfy, loved the bath robes and toiletries that were provided. Everything was thought about and provided. It made for a lovely weekend. Thank you

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
Thank you Allison
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
man_down2...
man_down2010
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 27 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Everything about this booking exceeded expectations. Communication from booking through to departure was very good. The host went out of the way to make us feel at home and provided everything we needed.

The location was central with good amenities in the village also. The cottage itself is full of fabulous surprises. The pictures do not do the place justice. We forgot some cooking ingredients and Sven provided us with home grown produce from his allotment. We left something behind when leaving and Angela promptly posted it out to us at home.

Nottinghamshire best kept secret. We will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing