We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food great service ”

Perkins Bar & Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Perkins Bar & Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 1,266 Restaurants in Nottingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 9 - US$ 29
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Perkins Bar & Bistro, located at Plumtree’s beautiful former Victorian Railway station, enjoyed an exciting transformation in 2016. Emerging as Perkins Bar & Bistro to fanfare from critics and public alike, the new eaterie offers food that’s modern and fresh. There are sharer-board starters, ‘Bistro bites’, main plates and daily specials using ingredients from Perkins’ very own smokehouse. There’s an ever-changing daily Prix Fixe, Afternoon Teas and Perkins’ Sunday offering is extended until 5pm - modern and classic seasonal dishes that commit to ingredients sourced from quality suppliers, local when possible. In terms of interior, think rustic tables, brass light fittings and bar seats amid reclaimed textures and materials. The re-designed interior offers a relaxed countryside bistro feel, somewhere you’d be equally happy to pop in for a pint and a snack or enjoy lunch or dinner.
A TripAdvisor Member
43
Reviewed 25 February 2017 via mobile

Ate at the Perkins restaurant tonight and the food and service were both great. All the staff were very polite, friendly and attentive.

The venison and steak were lovely as were our starters the inside out chicken and risoni.

Not sure what it looked like before the refurb as this was our first visit but I really liked the decor and the seats were comfy, I'm sure we'll be back.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F, Office Manager at Perkins Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Hello,

Many thanks for your lovely review of Perkins. We are really glad that you enjoyed your first visit to us.

We will make sure that we share your feedback with all of our team and we look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Kindest regards,

Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (485)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 485 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2017

We had a lovely meal. Both the food and service vastly improved since the last few visits before Christmas. Although short on vegataran options on the menu, staff always helpful to offer something else. Refurb? Not sure if all the wood doth a bistro make. Don't think the boarded up conservatory ceiling works. Why do it?? All in all an excellent evening, great team of staff and good atmosphere. - so owners please note. Perkins seemed to lose its way for some time. A few bits of wood around and some art on the walls - make no difference to returning customers if the service and food fall short.
We were so pleased to come back to Perkins - that surpassed our expectations. Thank you.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F, Office Manager at Perkins Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear J K,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. We are really glad that you feel that our food and service has improved. We are sorry if we let you down in the past.

Our conservatory ceiling seems to be bit like marmite, we have lots of people that think it looks great, and others like yourself that doesn't!

We do hope that it won't stop you coming back again though.

Kindest regards,

Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

it is 5 years since we were last here but we will be back again soon. This is an above average restaurant with an extensive menu including specials including lobster. Great starts and puddings and an extensive wine list. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F, Office Manager at Perkins Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2017

Dear Mike,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are really glad that your enjoyed your visit to Perkins bar & bistro and we look forward to seeing you again soon....hopefully sooner than 5 years!

Kindest regards,

Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I have visited twice recently sine the refurb and the food and atmosphere are great.

However, the portion sizes for the price of the food are very stingy, which has put us off visiting again and I haven't got a massive appetite. The chips served with the lobster on a Friday night are a childs portion and for £15 for the main I would expect more.

A shame really as I do like this restaurant, but always seem to go away feeling disappointed with the portions.

3  Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F, Office Manager at Perkins Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Dear Charlotte,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. We are really sorry that you have had a couple of occasions where you have been disappointed with the portion sizes at Perkins bar & bistro.

To help us investigate this further is it possible that you can contact us privately with your details so that we can discuss this further?

If you could email hfisher@perkins-family.co.uk, I would greatly appreciate it.

Kind regards,

Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Perkins is very hit and miss theses days. Our friends had sticky chicken lollipops, very nice and plenty of them. I had a cheesy risotto and my partner a ham hock Pattie type thing, again very nice and plenty of it. ( starters ) For main three of us had the lobster as it was burger and lobster night. Lobsters ( half ) again very nice but not a lot of lobster... A few chips in a tiny bucket and a too large salad. We didn't bother with pudding and came away feeling quite hungry !! Might just go for starter and desserts if we come again. Maybe lobster night should be called something else as we are not very close to the sea and I think these are obviously frozen Canadian ones. Overall we like Perkins and will go back ( not for the lobster ) !!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 685annc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather F, Office Manager at Perkins Bar & Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2017

Hi Ann,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Your honest feedback is very much appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed the starters, the chicken wings are a firm favourite at each of our sites.

We advertise our offering as lobster and burger evening with live music. We serve fresh lobster, they are in fact alive when delivered and firmly believe we are offering excellent quality and value, I am really sorry you do not agree but hope that this doesn’t put you off returning to Perkins on another occasion.

Kind regards,

Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Perkins Bar & Bistro also viewed

Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Gunthorpe, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Perkins Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing